Header - Services

Canada Council for the Arts

Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music

Prize Description

Awarded annually, the Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music is a competition for Canadian composers that is designed to encourage the creation of new chamber music and to foster its performance by Canadian chamber groups. The $7,500 prize was established in 1978 by the Right Honourable Jules Léger, then Governor General of Canada.

The competition for the prize is administered by the Canada Council for the Arts. The Canada Council also funds the award, selects and manages the peer assessment committee and promotes the winner. CBC/Radio-Canada broadcasts the winning composition.


June 1st

If this date falls on a weekend or statutory holiday, the deadline moves to the next business day.

Prize Amount

The award is worth $7,500.


By application only.

This prize is open to professional Canadian composers. To be considered for this prize, you must be a Canadian citizen or have permanent resident status, as defined by Citizenship and Immigration Canada. You do not need to be living in Canada when you apply.

Applicants to the Jules Léger Prize for New Chamber Music competition can also apply to the regular Canada Council grant programs.

Eligible forms of new chamber music are not defined by specific aesthetic categories, but all applicants should be aware that the nature of this prize is to support groundbreaking musical creation, risk-taking and the overall development of Canadian chamber music. Chamber music is traditionally understood as a work with a limited number of instruments, with one performer to a part.

Works may be written for any combination of performers, from a minimum of two to a maximum of 15 (excluding the conductor).

To be eligible, the submitted work must have had a premiere performance of professional quality during the three years preceding the deadline date of the competition. The composer must specify the date and place of the first performance and the names of the performers. A revised work is eligible if it has a new score, it has had a professional premiere within three years preceding the deadline date of the competition, and if it meets all other criteria.

Applicants may submit one work per application, with a maximum of two applications per deadline.

Further Information

Visit www.CanadaCouncil.ca

Jeff Morton
Program Officer
Music Section
1-800-263-5588 (toll-free), ext. 5211

The Canadian Music Centre's activities are made possible though the generous support of the following:

  • Supporter: Canada Council for the Arts Logo
  • Supporter: Socan Foundation Logo
  • Supporter: Factor
  • Supporter: Canadian Heritage Logo

  • Supporter: Alberta Arts Foundation
  • Supporter: British Columbia Arts Council
  • Supporter: Conseil des arts et des lettres Québec
  • Supporter: Ontario Arts Council
  • Supporter: Ontario Media Development Corporation
  • Supporter: Ontario Trilium Foundation

  • Supporter: Toronto Arts Council
  • Supporter: City of Vancouver
  • Supporter: Calgary Arts Development
  • Supporter: Calgary Foundation
  • Supporter: Conseil des arts de Montréal
  • Supporter: Vancouver Foundation
  • Supporter: Telus
  • Supporter: Deux Mille Foundation
  • Supporter: CBC Music

We acknowledge the financial support of the Government of Canada through the Department of Canadian Heritage (Canadian Music Fund) and of Canada's Private radio broadcasters.