Going Home Star

product image thumbnail

Prix: $19.99

Extraits Audio : 
Act I, Scene 6: Charlie's Escape / Star Children (999.74 kb)
This feature requires the flash player plugin

Act II, Scene 3: "They could not have possibly survived" (1,215.57 kb)
This feature requires the flash player plugin

Type de média : CD
Date de Parution : 2015
Étiquette du disque : Centrediscs / Centredisques

*NOTE: Pre-order only. Product ships November 18*

Royal Winnipeg Ballet’s
GOING HOME STAR: Truth and Reconciliation
Music by Christos Hatzis

Featuring the music of Tanya Tagaq, Steve Wood (Mistikwaskihk Napesis) and the Northern Cree Singers
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, under the direction of Tadeusz Biernacki
Spoken text by Joseph Boyden, additional voice over by Tanya Tagaq and Steve Wood.

“. . . The music for Going Home Star may be the best ballet composition ever created in Canada. . . With the collaboration of the magnificent Inuit throat singer Tanya Tagaq and the exciting pow-wow rituals of the Northern Cree Singers, Hatzis’s score embraces the story like hand to glove.” —THE GLOBE AND MAIL

“Christos Hatzis’s tour-de-force score . . . is a game-changer.” —WINNIPEG FREE PRESS

Choreographed by Mark Godden, on a story by Joseph Boyden, this ground-breaking ballet score by Christos Hatzis combines the talents of internationally renowned Inuit throat singer Tanya Tagaq, the haunting Cree songs of Steve Wood and the powerful, high octane pow-wow energy of the Northern Cree Singers with stellar performances by the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra under the direction of Tadeusz Biernacki. Based on the subject of the infamous Indian Residential Schools, GOING HOME STAR is a remarkable work, described by CBC Television as “the most important dance mounted by the Royal Winnipeg Ballet in its illustrious 75 year history.”
In this double CD, Hatzis’s ultra-eclectic music enables a unique conversation between native artists, a symphony orchestra and a digital audio component. This drawing together of traditionally segregated forces also enables several genres of music, from traditional ballet, swing era jazz, disco dance music, dub-step and scratch dj mixes to cosmic soundscapes and thematically based orchestral development to help reimagine a unique 21st Century music that transcends genre classifications and ideological taboos and aims for the kind of reconciliation and cultural awakening that is the deeper goal of this multifaceted dance project.

CD 1 / Act 1

1. – 5. Scene 1: In the Hair Salon, Train Station and Night Club (23:15)
1. 5:56
2. 4:23
3. 4:29
4. 2:15
5. 6:12

6. Scene 2: Coercion (5:41)

7. – 9. Scenes 3 – 5 Living by the Bell / In the Residential School (12:32)
7. 2:45
8. 3:54
9. 5:53

10. Scene 6: Charlie’s Escape / Star Children (9:18)

Total: 50:53

CD 2 / Act 2

1. Scene 1: Clergymen’s Dance (7:32)

2. Scene 2: “I got to build my fire up” (10: 31)

3. – 4. Scene 3: “They could have not possibly survived” (9:14)
3. 06:45
4. 02:30

5. Scene 4: Morning Song (11:46)

Total: 39:10

Suggérer une correction ou un ajout pour ce produit