Suite for Solo Cello

Harry Stafylakis
Harry Stafylakis
Date de composition : 2009
Durée: 00:18:00
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Cello


Instrumentation no. 1:
  • 1 x Violoncelle
Notes de programme :
"Myths are public dreams; dreams are private myths."
—Joseph Campbell

Suite for Solo Cello consists of four movements, each representing both a musical character piece and an approach to verbal or literary expression in its stylistic treatment.
I. Prelude-Prose: Ideas relate to each other in familiar syntax; narrative is formed.
II. Nocturne-Koan: By moving constantly, one moves not at all.
III. Scherzo-Expletive: Smile is a four-letter word.
IV. Ballad-Mythos: As we remember what was, shall we weep or sing?

The work was composed for - and in collaboration with - cellist Toby Kuhn during my travels France and Italy in the summer of 2009. Each movement seeks to capture some aspect of my personal experiences in each location I visited, in particular the cultural and historical weight of Paris, Jailly-les-Moulins, Monfort-l'Amaury, Ostia, and Rome.


This piece was commissioned by Toby Kuhn.

Renseignements sur la création :
21 novembre 2009, Christ Church Cathedral, Montréal, QC; Toby Kuhn, violoncelle


  • Cote:
  • MI 3113 S779su
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Cello
  • Date d'acquisition :
  • March 13, 2017
  • Type:
  • Partition, inédite
  • Description physique :
  • 1 partition (12 p.) ;
    12 pages
    Hauteur: 32 cm
    Largeur: 24 cm
  • Renseignements supplémentaires :
  • Pour violoncelle seul.
    En 4 mouvements.
    Oeuvre déposée au CMC Québec.
    - - -
    For solo cello.
    4 Movements
Demandez une consultation au sujet du répertoire
Suggérer une modification à cette entrée

Disponible Pour :

  • Prêt de la musicothèque
  • Service d’impression sur demande
  • Pour toutes informations à propos de cette oeuvre, envoyez un courriel à
TitreDétailsPrixAjouter ce produit
Suite for Solo Cello Pour toutes informations à propos de cette oeuvre, envoyez un courriel à