for 15 musicians

Zosha Di Castri
Zosha Di Castri
Date de composition : 2012
Date de révision : 2018
Durée: 00:15:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)


Instrumentation no. 1:
  • 1 x Flûte
  • 1 x Hautbois
  • 2 x Clarinette
  • 1 x Basson
  • 1 x Cor
  • 1 x Trompette
  • 1 x Trombone
  • 1 x Percussion
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Cordes, avec archet, non spécifées
Instrumentation no. 2:
  • 1 x Musique de chambre
Notes de programme :
This piece was first inspired Rirkrit Tiravanija’s giant print project, “Untitled 2008-2011 (the map of the land of feeling)”, which I saw at the MOMA in New York. These three enormous scrolls, totalling 84 feet in length, involved an intricate overlapping of textures, materials, fragments of maps and of archaeological sites, mazes, notebook pages, passports, recipes, and drawings. The result is a complex semi-autobiographical, semi-abstract cartography. To me these intricate eddies and flows brought to mind rich overlapping musical textures and segments of a sort of extra-territorial “faux-folk” music. As a fan of Italo Calvino, I thought back to how he once described wanting to write books that he himself would like to have read, “the sort by an unknown writer, from another age and another country, discovered in an attic”. This idea seemed to converge with my desire to write something in memory of my late grandmother, Irene Pawlowski. I loved how she would tell us stories about “the-old-country” or of life in Vilna, a small village in Alberta settled by eastern Europeans. These tales were at once so real in my mind I could almost convince myself I had personally experienced them, and yet were so foreign and from such a different time that they were difficult to grasp. The resulting music is a re-imagining of places and traditions I never fully knew, the sound of a fictitious culture one dreams up to keep the memories of another generation alive.

Zosha Di Castri

Renseignements sur la création :
Novembre 2012, Salle Claude-Champagne, Montréal, Québec; Nouvel Ensemble Moderne; Lorraine Vaillancourt, chef d'orchestre.


  • Cote:
  • MI 1200 D545ph 2018
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)
  • Date d'acquisition :
  • June 7, 2018
  • Type:
  • Partition, inédite
  • Description physique :
  • 1 partition(130 p.) ;
    130 pages
    Hauteur: 43 cm
    Largeur: 28 cm
    Nombre total de pages des parties: 172
    15 parties ([172] p.) ;
    Hauteur: 28 cm
    Largeur: 22 cm
  • Renseignements supplémentaires :
  • Oeuvre en un mouvement / In one movement
    Pour 15 musiciens / For 15 musicians: 1 1 2[1Ebcl.2/bcl] 1 — 1 1 1 0 — perc — pf — str[]
    Percussions exécutées par d'autres musiciens de l'ensemble / Percussion instruments played by other musicians: Ratchet (played by Bassoon) -- 2 Almglocken (G4, G#4) with 1 normal stick and 1 ridged guiro-like stick (played by Pianist) -- 2 Almglocken (D4, F4) and 1 unmounted Cowbell (played by Bassist) -- a low pitched portable drum such as a marching bass drum or large frame drum, worn with straps (played by Pianist) -- Claves (played by Conductor) -- Tambourine (played by Cellist)

    Written for the NEM Forum 2012, Revised 2018
    Dedicated to Lorraine Vaillancourt and the musicians of the Nouvel Ensemble Moderne. In loving memory of my Baba, Irene Pawlowski (1930-2012)

    Oeuvre déposée au CMC Québec / Work submitted to CMC Quebec
Demandez une consultation au sujet du répertoire
Suggérer une modification à cette entrée

Disponible Pour :

  • Prêt de la musicothèque
  • Service d’impression sur demande
  • Pour toutes informations à propos de cette oeuvre, envoyez un courriel à
TitreDétailsPrixAjouter ce produit
Phonotopographie for 15 musiciansPour toutes informations à propos de cette oeuvre, envoyez un courriel à