Dark Music Days / Sinfónían á Myrkum músikdögum

Jeudi, Janvier 31, 2019
Titre de l'événement: Dark Music Days / Sinfónían á Myrkum músikdögum
  • Région: --
  • Venue / Location: Harpa (Eldborg), Austurbakki 2, 101 Reykjavík. Iceland
  • Temps: 7:30pm
  • Prix: 25-50
  • Genre: Orchestre / Grands ensembles (10+)
  • Lien externe: www.en.sinfonia.is
  • Compositeur : Veronique Vaka
  • Composition: --
  • Profil de votre communauté: --

Veronique Vaka Lendh
Þuríður Jónsdóttir Flutter, concerto for flute
María Huld Markan Sigfúsdóttir Oceans
Páll Ragnar Pálsson Crevace, concerto for flute and bassoon
Anna Thorvaldsdottir Metacosmos

Daníel Bjarnason

Hallfríður Ólafsdóttir
Martin Kuuskmann
Mario Caroli

Each year, the Iceland Symphony takes part in the Dark Music Days, a festival of contemporary Icelandic music. This programme features three first performances, as well as other outstanding recent works. Þuríður Jónsdóttir's flute concerto Flutter, written in 2008, is a masterful work that combines solo flute, orchestra, and cricket and grasshopper sounds. Italian flautist Mario Caroli, who specialises in contemporary performance, premiered the concerto in 2009 with magnificent results. Páll Ragnar Pálsson's new concerto for flute and bassoon, Crevace, heard here for the first time, was written for the Iceland Symphony's principal flautist, Hallfríður Ólafsdóttir. Estonian bassoonist Martin Kuuskmann has also drawn international attention for his interpretation of new music which has earned him two Grammy nominations.

Also receiving its first Icelandic performance is a new orchestral work by the Iceland Symphony's composer-in-residence, Anna Thorvaldsdottir.

It was written for the New York Philharmonic and premiered there in April 2018 under the baton of Esa-Pekka Salonen. In yet another indicator of Anna's stature in the world of music, the Berlin Philharmonic will perform this new work just a few days prior to its Icelandic premiere.