for piano and orchestra

Michael S. Horwood
Michael S. Horwood
Date de composition : 1997
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano


Instrumentation no. 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Grand orchestre
Cliquez ici pour télécharger l'œuvre intégrale (35.18 Mb - version non imprimable)

Notes de programme :
Intravariations was the fruitful result of my ongoing friendship with the dedicatee, Mary Kenedi. Her success with and interest in my solo piano work, Broken Chords, led me to suggest the idea of writing a concerto for her.

Mary Kenedi and I considered various "concerto" options: a standard 3 movement plan, a single movement, even a concertino. Her personal fascination with variation form became the deciding factor. Thus, while Intravariations is every bit a "piano concerto" in sound, its formal shape does not suit the traditional concerto title. "Theme and Variations" or just "Variations" for piano and orchestra seemed too long, cumbersome, and not quite what I had in mind. As I toyed with what exactly I would "vary" in this piece, the preposition intra came to mind. I wanted to explore the notion of variations within variations.

At the heart of this piece is a progression of nine chords. The first and last chords are based in A minor/major. Additionally I constructed nine hybrid scales each containing one of the nine chords. There is also one subsidiary motive first heard on the brass as bridge material between the two parts of Variation 2 (bar 124). The piece begins with a quasi cadenza introduction during which each chord (with its scale) is elaborated upon in one chord (and scale) per bar. A full statement of the theme and nine variations follow. The theme, majestically intoned by the trombones, is stated over the entire chord progression, while most of the variations concentrate on one of the chords and its attendant scale.

Renseignements sur la création :
25/4/1998 Theatre Centre, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario; Mary Kenedi, piano, Sault Symphony Orchestra, John Wilkinson, conductor.


  • Cote:
  • MI 1361 H824in
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano
  • Date d'acquisition :
  • July 15, 2005
  • Type:
  • Partition, inédite
  • Description physique :
  • 1 score ((103) p.); 28 cm.
    103 pages
    Hauteur: 28 cm
    Largeur: 22 cm
    Nombre total de pages des parties: 168
    23 parts ((168) p.) ;
    Hauteur: 28 cm
  • Information sur la langue
  • Langue principale: Anglais
  • Renseignements supplémentaires :
  • Piano and orchestra: pic-2222; 4231; Timp, perc (3 players); strings
    One movement - various tempi
Demandez une consultation au sujet du répertoire
Suggérer une modification à cette entrée

Disponible Pour :

  • Prêt de la musicothèque
  • Service de location
  • Service d’impression sur demande


Click here to listen to Intravariations for piano and orchestra in Centrestreams.

Produits disponibles pour cette pièce :

TitreDétailsPrixAjouter ce produit
Intravariations for Piano and Orchestra: Partition
(Format PDF téléchargeable)
Suite and SeriousSuite and SeriousCD $20.98
Intravariations for piano and orchestra de Michael S. Horwood (Partition)
L'impression sur demande
Intravariations for piano and orchestraVous pouvez obtenir une copie papier de cette œuvre pour:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
en cliquant sur la touche Ajouter à la liste de demandes à droite
Des copies de cette pièce sont disponibles pour le prêt de: Toronto, Calgary, Vancouver