Annus mirabilis
five perspectives to celebrate Albert Einstein's year of miracles

Michael Oesterle
Michael Oesterle
Date de composition : 2005
Durée: 00:20:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)


Instrumentation no. 1:
  • 1 x Flûte
  • 1 x Hautbois
  • 1 x Clarinette
  • 1 x Clarinette basse
  • 1 x Basson
  • 1 x Cor
  • 1 x Trompette
  • 1 x Trombone
  • 1 x Percussion
  • 1 x Piano
  • 2 x Violon
  • 1 x Alto
  • 1 x Violoncelle
  • 1 x Contrebasse
Instrumentation no. 2:
  • 1 x Musique de chambre
Notes de programme :
100 years ago in 1905 Albert Einstein presented the world with four papers on physics that changed the world forever, toppling several key aspects of our "accepted" worldview, allowing us to perceive the relationship of light and energy from a profoundly new perspective. In a single year, Einstein's "annus mirabilus" (miraculous year - a phrase first used by the English poet Dryden), in his "spare time" away from his regular job at a patent office, he was able to conduct thought experiments that allowed him to re-imagine the world. He managed this sudden shift of perspective without a lab, through visualization techiques more akin to the way we think of the creative process in the arts than the way we usually think of scientific experimentation.
Einstein's achievements are humbling and miraculous. Though I share a birthplace (Ulm, Germany) and a dialect with this grat man I can only aspire to grasp his scientific accomplishments, yet I have a special affection and affinity for the way he worked and the particular point of view from which he looked at the world. "Annus Mirabilus" is presented in five movements, each subtitled with a phrase extracted from Einstein's 1905 writings, in most part from his work on brownian motion. The movements, though essentially the same, address the pretext of harmonic clusters, exploring the possibilities in shifting perspectives within the confines of a limited range of notes.

Renseignements sur la création :
Créationle 27 avril 2005 à la Salle Claude-Champagne, Montréal, Québec, Canada ; Nouvel Ensemble Moderne (NEM).


  • Cote:
  • MI 1200 O29ann 2005
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)
  • Date d'acquisition :
  • April 13, 2007
  • Type:
  • Partition, inédite
  • Description physique :
  • 1 partition (74 p.) ; 28 x 39 cm.
    74 pages
    Hauteur: 39 cm
    Largeur: 28 cm
  • Renseignements supplémentaires :
  • Pour orchestre de chambre: fl (aussi picc. et fl. alto), htb , clar., clar. basse, bsn, cor, tpt, tbn, pno (aussi celesta), 1perc (mar, vib, glck, chimes, bongo, guiro, pompe, slpstck, chinese wdblk, tmplblk(5), maracas(2)), vln1, vln2, alto, cello et contrebasse.
    Oeuvre en 5 mouvements: I. Traditional Kinematics -- II. Inertia of a Body dependent -- III. Gravity of the Particles -- IV. The observed interval of Time -- V. Indefinitely small Domains.
    Commande du Nouvel Ensemble Moderne, grâce au soutien du conseil des arts du Canada.
    Photocopie; l'original se trouve au CMC Québec.
Demandez une consultation au sujet du répertoire
Suggérer une modification à cette entrée

Disponible Pour :

Produits disponibles pour cette pièce :

TitreDétailsPrixAjouter ce produit
À Quelle Heure Commence Le Temps?À Quelle Heure Commence Le Temps?CD $20.98