Piano trio

Robert Rival
Robert Rival
Date de composition : 2005
Durée: 00:18:00
Genre: Strings (bowed), + Keyboard, Trio (Violin / Cello / Keyboard)


Instrumentation no. 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Violon
  • 1 x Violoncelle
Cliquez ici pour télécharger l'œuvre intégrale (9.68 Mb - version non imprimable)

Notes de programme :
The first movement is an Allegro risoluto in sonata form. The exposition introduces two contrasting theme groups in quick succession: a rapid and incisive five-note figure in D minor; and a more expressive falling-fifth and a repeated-note figure, in the relative major. In the extensive development, the first theme makes numerous appearances in various guises, inverted,
augmented, fragmented, and mined for its rhythmic and pitch content. In its triple-augmented form, it evokes the catacombs, and with rhythmic displacement, takes on a jocular character.
Throughout, the motive’s many transformations are juxtaposed in a contrapuntal jigsaw puzzle. The unrelenting flow of development is challenged and interrupted by three quasi-improvisatory sections featuring a strand of contradictory tempo or unmeasured notation set against the movement’s steady pulse. The recapitulation features a reworking and extension of the second, expressive, theme, this time more lyrical and on the tonic pedal. The coda recalls the first theme and concludes precipitously in F.
The second movement, Largo sostenuto, is an elegy with a dark and brooding character, but not without some moments of sweetness, perhaps nostalgia. It opens in the distant mode of C-sharp phrygian, but its stark counterpoint sends it on an unstable path of continual modulation. The tension explodes in the concluding transition section, Andante furioso, that establishes the tempo and key of the third movement, which follows without break.
The third movement, Andante ben marcato e tempo giusto, gradually resolves the accumulated tension of the preceding two, first with a lively dance. The two-bar dance phrase, in irregular metre, is an original theme, although inspired by the music of the Romani people of Central and Eastern Europe. Every entrance of the theme, as it passes from instrument to instrument,
suggests a solo dancer stepping into the centre of a circle, encouraged on by the group that dances a syncopated accompaniment. The dancers eventually disperse and the dance’s rhythm seamlessly dissolves into the concluding Adagio, a calming coda sustained by a repeated-note E flat pedal in the piano’s low register. The elegy theme is recalled in more positive light before
the movement thins out to a single E-flat in the piano bass.

Renseignements sur la création :
02/08/2005 Ottawa International Chamber Music Festival Ottawa Denise Djokic, Renée-Paule Gauthier, Peter Longworth


  • Cote:
  • MI 3233 R616pi
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), + Keyboard, Trio (Violin / Cello / Keyboard)
  • Date d'acquisition :
  • July 28, 2010
  • Type:
  • Partition, inédite
  • Description physique :
  • 1 score (27 p.) ;
    37 pages
    Hauteur: 28 cm
    Largeur: 22 cm
    Nombre total de pages des parties: 31
    2 parts ([31] p.) ;
    Hauteur: 28 cm
  • Renseignements supplémentaires :
  • piano, violin, cello
    I. Allegro risoluto
    II. ELEGY: Largo sostenuto. Andante furioso.
    III. DANCE: Andante ben marcato e tempo giusto. Adagio.
Demandez une consultation au sujet du répertoire
Suggérer une modification à cette entrée

Disponible Pour :

  • Prêt de la musicothèque
  • Service d’impression sur demande
Produits disponibles pour cette pièce :

TitreDétailsPrixAjouter ce produit
Piano trio de Robert Rival (Partition)
L'impression sur demande
Piano trio de Robert Rival (Partition et Parties)
L'impression sur demande
Piano Trio: Partition
(Format PDF téléchargeable)
Piano Trio: Partition Et Parties
Score and Parts
(Format PDF téléchargeable)
Piano trio
Demande de prêt