Violin concerto
Op. 22

Composition Date: 1991
Revision Date: 1991
Duration: 00:27:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Violin(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:

Andrew MacDonald

Concerto pour violon et orchestre, 1991

Commissioned by:

Premiered by:

“This Concerto for Violin and Orchestra is a truly virtuosic piece, and there is no denying the verve and élan of the solo writing and the skilful and colourful scoring, especially the imaginative use of a large array of percussion effects. The concerto is made up of three main movements played without a pause but connected by interlude-like cadenzas that link the movements to create the impression of a single-movement fantasy for violin and orchestra.”


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1311 M1345vi
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Violin(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • December 2, 1993
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition ((2), 56 p.) + 1 réduction violon et piano (70 p.) + 1 partie (28 p.);
    58 Pages
    Height: 32 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Ms (photocopie); l'original de la partition et des parties séparées se trouve au CMC Montréal.
    Violin solo / 1111 / 1000 timp (perc) / strings (min. 6-6-4-4-2).
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Canadian Music for Chamber OrchestraCanadian Music for Chamber OrchestraCD $25.98
Violin concerto Op. 22For information about this piece, please contact
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver