Copperline Breathing
Solo Marimba and Percussion Quartet

Composition Date: 2001
Revision Date: 2004
Duration: 00:17:00
Genre: Percussion, Solo / Ensemble, + Keyboard


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Marimba
  • 1 x Percussion ( 4 Players )
Programme Note:
Copperline Breathing was composed in early 2001 for the Northwestern University Percussion Ensemble at the request of director Michael Burritt. The NUPE premiered the piece on 12 February 2001 at Northwestern University. The piece underwent a number of revisions in 2003.The predominant pitch material in the piece is based on the major third and perfect fifth intervals; they are used linearly and harmonically to create shimmering neo-impressionist landscapes, primarily influenced by the music of Jacob Druckman. The sense of bravura and rhythmic pulse in the work was inspired in no small part by marimbist/composer Michael Burritt, to whom the work is dedicated. American novelist, Paul Auster inspired additional aesthetic behaviorisms in the piece.

Premiere Information:
Evanston, Illinois, USA
Regenstein Hall, Northwestern University
12 Feb., 2001
Nicholas Papador (marimba soloist)
Josh Aldorisio, Cory Hills, Will James, and Annie Stevens (percussion quartet)


  • Call Number:
  • MI 7120 P213co
  • Genre:
  • Percussion, Solo / Ensemble, + Keyboard
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • November 3, 2014
  • Type:
  • Print-music, published
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (89 p.) ; 22 x 28
    89 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Dedicated to Michael Burritt
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

    Library Loan
    This item is only available for library loan

    Printed copies of this title are available from House Panther Press. Please contact the publisher directly.
    Published by House Panther Press
TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Copperline Breathing Solo Marimba and Percussion Quartet
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto