Figures hâtives
pour violon solo et orchestre symphonique

John Rea
John Rea
Composition Date: 2006
Duration: 00:14:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Violin(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 3 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 3 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 4 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 2 x Percussion
  • 1 x Harp
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
Hurried Figures came about as the result of a commission from the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, with financial support from the Canada Council. It was
written for the orchestra‘s concertmaster Richard Roberts, to whom it is dedicated. The composer writes:
”Once I had the pleasure of hearing a child tell me that being impatient was ’when one waits fast.‘ The kernel of truth and wisdom in this observation draws me as a music listener to something which is neither negligible nor without interest, for a part of my experience with respect to music has already led me to live this state and to know this waiting fast.
“When I listen to certain works, I ask myself whether it is I who am in a hurry, or whether there is the presence of a hurried condition – resident within the music itself – to which I am particularly sensitive.
“The expression ‘to wait fast’ in no way suggests the rather contradictory expression, ‘to hurry slowly’ (in Latin, festina lente). Nevertheless, there does exist a saying, ‘more haste, less speed.’ Here, then, are the elements of this little paradox that I tried to infuse into the very heart of my Figures hâtives (Hurried Figures).”

Premiere Information:
Créée le 9 et 10 mai 2006 à la Salle Wilfrid-Pelletier à Montréal avec Richard Roberts (violon solo) et l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal dirigé par Yoav Talmi.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1311 R281fi
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Violin(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • December 17, 2014
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (96 p.) ;
    96 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
    Width: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Pour violon solo et orchestre :3232 / 4221 - 2 perc - timbales - harpe - cordes.
    Percussions: cymbale suspendue, 5 gongs chinois, fouet, caisse claire, marimba, xylophone, vibraphone, glockenspiel.
    En 1 mouvement
    Commande de Orchestre symphonique de Montréal. À Monsieur Richard Roberts.
    Oeuvre déposée au CMC Québec.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Figures hâtives pour violon solo et orchestre symphoniqueFor information about this piece, please contact
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver