Reflets laurentiens
concerto for clarinet, saxophone and orchestra

Maya Badian
Maya Badian
Composition Date: 1994
Revision Date: 1995
Duration: 00:22:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Clarinet(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Clarinet
  • 1 x Saxophone
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (24.60 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
"REFLETS LAURENTIENS, CONCERTO FOR CLARINET, SAXOPHONE AND ORCHESTRA by Maya Badian enriches the repertoire of the Clarinet and Saxophone as solo instruments in a same setting. This is still a very rare combination of two solo wind instruments of different tone colours played by the same artist. The three movements take their titles from works of art on Laurentians by the well-known Montréal-based painter Tibor K. Thomas: I.- October Sky; II.- Lake in the Laurentians; III.- Laurentian Rapids.
I. OCTOBER SKY, the first movement (clarinet and orchestra) marked Moderato giocoso, based on an energetic Giocoso thematic idea, is ingeniously developed, including different colours of the orchestra in combination with the soloist. Andante, the middle section of the movement, serves as a brief oasis with a gentle mood and character. A dialogue between the solo clarinet and the English horn, accompanied by strings, opens this section. This leads to an interesting Cadenza a tre for the solo clarinet and trumpet joined, after a few bars, by horn 1. A brilliant accelerando with majestic orchestral chords accompanying a dialogue between the solo clarinet and a solo violin 1 thrusts the musicians into the recapitulation, Tempo Primo. Flutter-tonguing by the solo clarinettist marks, with brilliance, the final bars.
II. LAC DANS LES LAURENTIDES/LAKE IN LAURENTIANS, the second movement (saxophone and orchestra) is, in contrast, orchestrated intimately with timpani, percussion, and strings as the only accompaniment supporting the saxophone. This calmness is a reflection of the composer’s impressions of this particular lake’s static beauty.
III. CASCADES LAURENTIENNES/LAURENTIAN RAPIDS (clarinet and orchestra), the third movement, has the soloist perform on the clarinet as in the first movement. In this way, the clarinet symmetrically surrounds the more novel use of the saxophone as a solo instrument in the second movement. This movement, filled with evocative and mysterious rumbling, has an almost cinematic feeling and gives the solo clarinet ample possibilities for solstice abandon. The entire range of the solo instrument is exploited to express, in musical terms, the flavour of a mountain stream. A recollection of this movement’s calm leads to an unexpected and unique percussion solo. A short solo Cadenza of the solo clarinet prepares the orchestra for a brief brilliant coda marked Allegro. At the final bar, Maya Badian writes "improvisation libre" - so the clarinettist creates his own interpretation to brilliantly put the closing touch to this colourful Concerto." - Professor Gerald E. Corey.

Premiere Information:
6 November 1994, Trois-Rivières, Québec
László Horváth, clarinet & saxophone, Orchestre symphonique de Trois-Rivières; Gilles Bellemare, conductor


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1323 B136re
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Clarinet(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • October 17, 1996
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (92 p.);
    92 Pages
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Clarinette and saxophone (1 player) /2222/2120/timp, perc/strings.

    Joint commission: László Horváth, Hungarian State Symphony Orchestra and Gilles Bellemare through the Canada Council.

    Orchestra material available on rental from Lucian Badian Editions.

    I. Ciel d'octobre / October Sky (Moderato giocoso) ) (Clarinette solo) -- II. Lac dans les Laurentides / Lake in the Laurentians (Largo) (Saxophone solo) -- III. Cascades laurentiennes / Laurentian Rapids (Andantino con moto) (Clarinette solo).
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase

  • Published by Éditions Lucian Badian Editions


Click here to listen to Reflets laurentiens concerto for clarinet, saxophone and orchestra in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Multimusic CanadaMultimusic CanadaCD $20.98
Concert Music - Maya BadianConcert Music - Maya BadianCD $20.98Out of stock
MultimusicsMultimusicsCD $20.98
Wilderness and StillnessCD $20.98
Reflets laurentiens Double concerto for clarinet, saxophone and orchestra: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Reflets laurentiens Double concerto for clarinet, saxophone and orchestra by Maya Badian (Score)
Printed on demand
Reflets laurentiens concerto for clarinet, saxophone and orchestra
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Vancouver