Viola Concerto

Timothy Brady
Timothy Brady
Composition Date: 2012
Duration: 00:21:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Viola(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 2 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 2 x Percussion
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
For reasons that I have never quite been able to explain, the viola is my absolute favourite member of the orchestral string family. Perhaps it is the very vocal quality of the instrument, or it's slight "underdog" status, or some other, unknown, subconscious reason... or maybe I just love the sound of the viola. Given my love for the viola, I was very happy to compose my Viola Concerto for Jutta Puchhamer-Sediollot and the OSL in 2013. The work was the last orchestral work that I composed for the OSL as part of my 5-year term as composer in residence. The residence was, without a doubt, one of the most satisfying, successful and fulfilling artistic experiences of my career, and to end with a major Viola Concerto was a great pleasure.

The Viola Concerto is in one large, 20-minute movement, but in 4 very distinct sections. The first is quite melodic and plaintif in character, while the second is very fast, with syncopations and cross-rhythms for both the viola and the orchestra. The third section is more atmospheric and mysterious, leading to the fmal very beat-oriented, groove motif that closes the work.

Instead of incorporating a single, big cadenza (solo) for the viola (which a traditional 3-movement concerto would have), I choose to create 2 smaller (but equally difficult) solos, which are used to link various section of the piece. The cadenzas are also accompanied by the timpani, hinting at the strong sense of pulse that pervades the entire concerto.

Many thanks to Jutta who premiered the work and who is also performing the piece with SNS tonight. A composer could simply not ask for a better soloist.

Premiere Information:
13 mars 2013, salle André-Mathieu, Laval, Québec, Canada; Orchestre symphonique de Laval, Alain Trudel, dir., Jutta Puchhammer-Sedillot, alto solo


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1312 B812vi
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Viola(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 5, 2016
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition (vi, 80 p.) ;
    86 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
    Width: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For solo viola and orchestra : 222[2bcl]2/4230/timp+2 perc./str.
    Percussion #1: vibraphone, bass drum, triangle.
    Percussion #2: tam-tam, congas, marimba, bass drum, gong, hi-hat and ride cymbal.
    In 1 movement.
    Work submitted at CMC Québec.
    Pour alto solo et orchestre : 222[2bcl]2/4230/timb+2 perc./cordes.
    Percussion #1: vibraphone, grosse caisse, triangle.
    Percussion #2: tam-tam, congas, marimba, grosse caisse, gong, hi-hat and ride cymbal.
    En 1 mouvement.
    Oeuvre déposée au CMC Québec.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
The How and the Why of MemoryThe How and the Why of MemoryCD $13.98
Viola Concerto For information about this piece, please contact
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver