trio for shō and u, viola, and cello

Daryl Jamieson
Composition Date: 2016
Duration: 00:53:00
Genre: Mixed Chamber Ensembles (1 to 9 Performers), Trios, Woodwind(s), Bowed String(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Ethnic woodwind
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
Programme Note:
fallings is cyclical. There are numerous cycles at work, some very short and easily recognisable as cycles, others repeat at longer intervals, and there is one 'cycle' which occurs only once. There are also overarching huge cycles which conceptually last for much longer than the piece, one of which is the ostensible theme of the work. That principal cycle is coming to its end, is in its period of decline. It is 'falling', dying out, sputtering. And, as a piece concerned with expressing this 'end of a cycle' period, even for the cycles which both rise and fall within the piece, there is an emphasis on the falling. Kenkō, in mappō-inflected Kamakura-era Japan, praised not the beauty of cherry blossoms on the tree, bursting out of their buds in a subtle revelation, but rather wrote of the beauty of the blossoms as they die, their short existence reminding us of the fragility of own lives. He wrote in a time of pessimism, but found beauty and comfort in the cycles of birth and death, even as he emphasised the ephemerality of all things. It is in the nature of the cyclical that after the fall, something new rises. Even though it focuses on falling, this is not a pessimistic piece. There is beauty in ruins, and hope in destruction: just look at the Colosseum in Rome, listen to the changing timbres of a plucked string as it disappears into silence, watch a cherry blossom as it falls.

Premiere Information:
19 October 2016, Ōmi Gakudō, Tokyo, Japan
Ko Ishikawa, shō and u; Mari Adachi, viola; Seiko Takemoto, cello


  • Call Number:
  • MI 8313 J321fal
  • Genre:
  • Mixed Chamber Ensembles (1 to 9 Performers), Trios, Woodwind(s), Bowed String(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • April 26, 2017
  • Type:
  • Print-music, published
  • Physical Description:
  • Score
    22 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
    Width: 30 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Commissioned by: atelier jaku
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Reference

  • Printed copies of this title are available from Da Vinci Publishing. Please contact the publisher directly.
    Published by Da Vinci Publishing