String Quartet

John Plant
John Plant
Composition Date: 2015
Duration: 00:18:25
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
Click here to download full work (9.47 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
I. A fanatic heart: The swiftly increasing ferocity of this movement emerges through obsessive motives in polyrhythmic superposition, nested in a starkly etched texture. A meditative passage of successive rising minor seconds frames the movement, and is also heard at its core. It echoes the bleak desolation which fanaticism, whether collective or personal, brings in its wake.

II. Lament: The Lament can be understood as a grieving response to the first movement. There are no changes of time signature or tempo anywhere in the movement, which is an extremely unusual procedure in my music! A plaintive arioso for solo violin gives way to a shadowy descent. Descending figures play a prominent role in the texture which accompanies the principal melody. An ascent from the depths, as if reversing the initial descent, leads to an ethereal coda, punctuated by descending gestures from the second violin, as if its cries of distress were echoing into space.

III. Gubbinal: The third movement is a kind of scherzo, a dialogue between two contrasting views of life. The upper strings insistently make their case for a cheerful, buoyant outlook through teasing, wheedling, pleading. The viola and cello remain firmly in opposition, at first simply responding with a stubborn NO, then articulating their grouchy disgruntled state with grumbling and whining. The title derives from Wallace Stevens' satiric poem Gubbinal, with its refrain 'The world is ugly/And the people are sad.' It has been suggested that the source of 'Gubbinal' is the slangword 'gubbins' - indicating that this is a gubbinslike proposition.

IV. With growing passion: The Finale emerges from desolation to affirm an increasingly passionate approach to life. It is in ABA form: the upwardly-striving, fervent melody of the opening gives way to the rhythmically insistent, jolting, thrusting energy of the central section. The irregularly pulsing rhythms provoke a new blossoming of lyricism; this prepares the return of the initial melody, intensified, transfigured, building to a swift climax, culminating in a shimmering F-sharp minor triad, whose topmost note emerges like an undying flame, burning in the air.-John Plant

Premiere Information:
Halifax, Nova Scotia
The Music Room
3 Feb 2016
Blue Engine String Quartet


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3134 P713str
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • August 10, 2017
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • Score
    58 Pages
    Height: 11 inches
    Width: 8.5 inches
    Parts page count: 58
    58 Pages
    Height: 11 inches
    Width: 8.5 inches
  • Additional Information:
  • I. A fanatic heart
    II. Lament
    III. Gubbinal
    IV. With growing passion

    Commissioned by Blue Engine String Quartet
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase


Click here to listen to String Quartet in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
String Quartet by John Plant (Score)
Printed on demand
String Quartet by John Plant (Score and Parts)
Printed on demand
String Quartet : Score
(downloadable PDF)
String Quartet : Score and Parts
Score and Parts
(downloadable PDF)
String Quartet
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Calgary