Concerto for violin and orchestra

Gary Kulesha
Gary Kulesha
Composition Date: 1999
Revision Date: 1999
Duration: 00:20:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Violin(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 3 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 4 x Horn
  • 3 x Trumpet
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 3 x Percussion
  • 1 x Harp
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
Gary Kulesha

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, 1999

Commissioned by: CBC for Gwen Hoebig

Premiered by: Gwen Hoebig, violin, Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, January 29, 2000

“… a cleanly-structured form: four movements, with a broadly meditative opening andante, a prickly scherzo, and elegiac third movement and a finale that revisited some of the material and the feeling of the previous music.” Robert Everett-Green, The Globe and Mail, January 31, 2000

“This work is cast in four movements, and each is developed in a similar fashion. In a way, this is a ‘chaconne concerto’, because each movement is essentially a set of variations on a series of sonorities which are first heard in the cadenza-like opening. There is no chaconne theme, just a basic chord progression, which mutates across the course of the work. The sonorities are evolved from the very first sound heard, a rising arpeggio-like figure in the solo violin.”


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1311 K96co
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Violin(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 5, 2001
  • Type:
  • Print-music, published
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score ([2], 89 p.) ;
    91 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Solo violin/3(picc)222(cbsn)/4331/timp, perc (3), piano (harpsichord, celeste), harp/strings.
    Duration: ca 22:00
    Commissioned by the CBC for Gwen Hoebig.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Reference

  • Printed copies of this title are available from Counterpoint Music Library Services. Please contact the publisher directly.
    Published by Counterpoint Music Library Services


Click here to listen to Concerto for violin and orchestra in Centrestreams.