Sound Assemblings

Diana McIntosh
Composition Date: 1986
Revision Date: 1986
Duration: 00:14:00
Genre: Works with Electronics / Multi-Media, Solo Works, , Keyboard(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Tape
Click here to download full work (11.47 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:

Diana McIntosh

Sound Assemblings, 1983/rev. 1986

Commissioned by:

“Bertram Brookers’ painting, ‘Sounds Assembling,’ – which was intended to describe visually a musical composition – was the initial inspiration for “Sound Assemblings. Each of the three main sections of the music represents an assembling of sounds, rhythms, and patterns into repetitive, or ‘circular’, shapes which form the structure of Brookers’ painting. The electronic sounds, which were produced with a Synclavier II Digital Synthesizer, sometimes work in unity with the piano and sometimes are independent of it.”

Premiere Information:
Diana McIntosh, piano, London, UK, November 3, 1983


  • Call Number:
  • MI 9101 M152so
  • Genre:
  • Works with Electronics / Multi-Media, Solo Works, , Keyboard(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • September 30, 1988
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (26 p.) ;
    26 Pages
    Height: 32 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For piano and prepared tape.
    Ms. (photocopy); original in CMC Toronto.
    Duration: ca. 14:00
    Prepared tape is available from the composer.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:


Click here to listen to Sound Assemblings in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Another Byte of McintoshAnother Byte of McintoshCD $20.98
Sound Assemblings: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Sound Assemblings by Diana McIntosh (Score)
Printed on demand
Sound Assemblings
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver, Sackville