And then at night I paint the stars...
concerto for harp and orchestra

Composition Date: 2002
Duration: 00:20:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Harp(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Harp
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (30.51 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
The concerto falls into a four-movement structure. The first movement begins with harp alone and is predominantly slow, but with large emotional and dymanic arc. The second movement is a fast scherzo, or dance-like movement. The third movement is the solo cadenza for harp and is actually a little piece on its own. The fourth movement, like the first is also predominantly slow. It begins with a bassoon solo, and also features a duet for flute and harp, and an orchestral chaconne with solo violin that is from an earlier string quartet.
For the title, I adapted a line from a letter written by Vincent Van Gogh to his brother, Theo. The letter was written while Van Gogh was working on pieces depicting cafes, night skies, and everyday scenes from his town. He tells his brother that he does not have a great deal of support from his colleagues or patrons because of the 'simplistic' nature of the subjects he has chosen. His answer captivated me. he says "it does me good to do difficult things. That does not prevent me from having a terrible need of -- shall I say the word? -- of religion. Then I go out at night to paint the stars, and I am always dreaming of a picture like this with a group of living figures of our comrades."
'And then at night I paint the stars...' was written for and is dedicated to Judy Loman. It was a co-comission between the CBC and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra to mark Ms. Loman's retirement as principal harpist of the orchestra. The concerto is meant to showcase, not only the beautiful sounds of the harp at the hands of this extraordinary musician, but also to allow the orchestra to shower one of their own with musical tributes, ranging from spirited fanfares to plaintive farewells. (Program Notes from the score)


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1316 M978an
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Harp(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 30, 2003
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (64 p.) ; 42 cm.
    64 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
    Width: 28 cm
    Depth: 1 cm
    Parts page count: 174
    27 parts ((174) p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For solo harp and orchestra.
    Commissioned by the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation and the Toronto Symphony Orchestra for Judy Loman.
    Instrumentation: 2/2/2/2-4/3/2/1-timp, perc (2), piano-strings-solo harp
    Duration: 20 min.
    I. Night Sky -- 2. Ascent of Ursa Major -- 3. Scintillation -- Morning Sky.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
  • Rental


Click here to listen to And then at night I paint the stars... concerto for harp and orchestra in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
And Then at Night I Paint the Stars... Concerto for Harp and Orchestra: Score
(downloadable PDF)
And then at night I paint the stars... concerto for harp and orchestra by Kelly-Marie Murphy (Score)
Printed on demand
And then at night I paint the stars... concerto for harp and orchestraYou can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver, Rental Library