Wei Fanghua, seule, au Parc des Paysages Assemblés
pour quatuor de saxophones et soprano

Nicolas Gilbert
Composition Date: 2000
Duration: 00:14:00
Genre: Solo Voice, With Chamber Ensemble, Woodwind(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 4 x Saxophone
  • 1 x Soprano
Programme Note:
I wrote this piece before my first visit to China. It was a time when I could only see the land of my dreams through closed eyes. That image of China, filled with princesses and large beautiful red flags, was never to be found. However, there is, without a doubt, something that exists in my present day image of China, something that is real, perhaps. I remember a young painter that I met there. He lived in a minuscule concrete room which was cluttered with abandoned canvases, second hand goods of all sort destined to be a part of a future sculpture, and an astonishing number of small clay figurines. One day, he shared with me his biggest dream, which was not to run away to Canada like so many others, but to become the best bird trainer in China. When I asked him why such an unusual dream, he replied: “I want to teach the finches of Fragrant Hills Park to sing Messiaen’s Turangalila-Symphony. Messiaen originally intended this work to be performed by birds, however, it was not out of frustration that he orchestrated this work. One can tell.” As far as I’m concerned, he will succeed. He is very close to birds as they are to him. Dreams still exist in China. Some say that there are certain things that a lucid eye cannot endure. Now, I am everything but lucid, everybody tells me that, but occasionally it does happen that I look elsewhere.

Premiere Information:
22 janvier 2002, Studio du Musée Juste pour Rire, Montréal; Quatuor de saxophones Quasar; Émilie Laforest, soprano.


  • Call Number:
  • MV 1210 G465we 2000
  • Genre:
  • Solo Voice, With Chamber Ensemble, Woodwind(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • December 11, 2003
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition (24 p.) ; 43 cm.
    24 Pages
    Height: 11 inches
    Width: 17 inches
  • Additional Information:
  • Pour quatuor de saxophones et soprano.
    Commande du Quatuor de saxophones Quasar.
    Photocopie; l'original se trouve au CMC Québec.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Wei Fanghua, seule, au Parc des Paysages Assemblés pour quatuor de saxophones et sopranoFor information about this piece, please contact atelier@centremusique.ca--
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver