Concerto for piano and orchestra

Composition Date: 1998
Revision Date: 2000
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (33.22 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
This work was inspired by the concluding lines from Pablo Neruda’s poem Entrada a la madera (Entrance to Wood).

'y hagamos fuego, y silencio, y sonido y ardamos, y callemos, y campanas.'

'and let us make fire, and silence, and sound, and let us burn, and be silent, and bells.'

This concerto was written for pianist Louise Thomas and is dedicated to her and to my father, Arvydas, whose piano improvisations have always inspired me.

Premiere Information:
March 2000, Bovard Auditorium, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California; USC Symphony; Donald Crockett, conductor, Louise Thomas, piano.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1361 K91cop 2000
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • March 26, 2004
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (iv, 52 p.) ;
    56 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For solo piano and orchestra

    Instrumentation : Solo piano/222chromatic harmonica2/2221/perc(3)/strings.

    Chromatic harmonica 4 octave, ossia 3 octave.

    Photocopy; master of score in CMC Toronto.

    Additional People:
    Pablo Neruda
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:


Click here to listen to Concerto for piano and orchestra in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Concerto for piano and orchestra by Veronika Krausas (Score)
Printed on demand
Concerto for piano and orchestraYou can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver