Ingression II

Composition Date: 1978
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 4 x Flute
  • 4 x Oboe
  • 4 x Clarinet
  • 4 x Bassoon
  • 6 x Horn
  • 4 x Trumpet
  • 4 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 3 x Percussion
  • 2 x Harp
  • 1 x Celeste
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
Ingression II, for Great Orchestra, is composed in 1978-1979. It is the second composition that uses the "ingression" in the title, from Latin "ingressio" - going in (the first one is Ingression I, for Chamber Orchestra, from 1976). The title revoke the free flow of musical events in time where the sequences are defined either as melodies, tone events, or chord and cluster tone groups. The freely flow of music is conceived as a non-metrical system of composing, that is the score is written without application of any meter, only separate spaces, the meaning of which is one quarter note, designate the time nature of the music - duration which is, then, defined by the metronome.

This work can be considered as being a very good example of my first compositional phase that one could define as atonal. There I used mostly the technic taken from free dodecaphony, meaning I did not necessarily keep the order of notes in a tone sequence during the process of composing. The orchestration uses sustained tone clusters, either as harmonic tones exposed at the string section or as chords variously defined at the strings and winds. The overall structure is developing one with small movements of notes being evoked in the beginning and harmonic progressions that appears - "ingress" towards the end. The climax is very powerful, but the composition finishes in a soft dynamic level, gradually going softer (decrescendo) in the second part in which, finally, a dodecaphonic melody, played by the vibraphone, is sustained and heard till the very end of the composition.

Premiere Information:
Création à Beograd en 1984 au Concert Hall "Kolaral" par le Belgrade Philharmonic. Direction: Anton Kolar.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1100 L431in2 1979
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • June 3, 2004
  • Type:
  • Print-music, published
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition
    125 Pages
    Height: 34 cm
    Width: 24.5 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Pour orchestre: 4(pic) 4(Eh) 4(bcl) 4(cbsn) - 6441 - timp+3 - cel - 2 harp - piano - str.
    Partition publiée par PashuArt / Published by PashuArt
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

    Library Loan
    This item is only available for library loan
    For information about this piece, please contact
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Ingression II by Leon Miodrag Lazarov Pashu (Score)
Printed on demand
Ingression IIFor information about this piece, please contact
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Montréal