...I, Laika...
for flute, cello, and piano

Hope Lee
Hope Lee
Composition Date: 1996
Genre: Mixed Chamber Ensembles (1 to 9 Performers), Trios, Woodwind(s), Keyboard(s) / Bowed String(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Violoncello
Programme Note:
"The origin of music is in the very remote past. It was born of equal measurement and rooted in the Grand Unity. The Grand Unity gave birth to the Counterparts (heaven and earth). The Counterparts gave birth to yin and yang transformed and stratified into higher and lower levels. These came together and formed regular patterns. Rolling over and about, again and again, they would separate, the come together and then separate. This is called the constancy of heaven; the turning wheel of heaven and earth coming to an end begins again, reaching its ultimate source. All things are part of this process."
Spring & Autumn Annals of Mr. Lu (ca. 239 B.C.)

"Nov. 3 While U.S. scientists frantically scratched away at the drawing board, te U.S.S.R. placed its second satellite in orbit. Sputnik 2, several times larger than its predecessor, carried the first living creature, a dog named Laika, into space. Wired from snout to paw with electronic sensors, Laika fed Soviet scientists on the ground valuable data on the biological effects of takeoff and weightlessness. The animal's oxygen supply gave out in 10 days, as planned, and Laika became the first living thing to die in space."
The People's Almanac

...I, Laika... was commissioned by Ensemble Daedaleus with financial support provided by the Canada Council commissioning grant, and is dedicated to Rita Gauthier, pianist and founder of the ensemble.

Premiere Information:
1991, Ottawa, Espace Musique ; Ensemble Daedaleus.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 8315 L478ila 1996
  • Genre:
  • Mixed Chamber Ensembles (1 to 9 Performers), Trios, Woodwind(s), Keyboard(s) / Bowed String(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 6, 2004
  • Type:
  • Print-music, published
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (ii, 74 p.) + 3 parts ((v), (91) p.) ; 30 cm.
    76 Pages
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 21 cm
    Parts page count: 96
  • Additional Information:
  • For flute, violoncello, and piano.

    Title page has the dates 1988-89.

    Commissioned by the Ensemble Daedaleus (Montreal) through the Canada Council, 1987.

    Contains performance and notation instructions.

    Flute part contains biographical information for the composer in English and in German.
    Sections of title page of score written in English and German.

    In this work, the colour changes, register shifts, and gestural, harmonic and melodic formations generated from the inital two notes evolve in 'a continuous metamorphosis'. '...In Lee's playfully eccentric 'I, Laika' "...seemingly unsynchronized rapid passages and extended techniques blend into a quirky study on Oriental cosmology..." (Los Angeles Times, Oct. 11, 1990). (from score)

    In memory of my father, Colonel Luke Sheng Shan Lee, who was reported missing during a mission to Laos in 1961.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

    Library Loan
    This item is only available for library loan

    Printed copies of this title are available from Furore Verlag. Please contact the publisher directly.
    Published by Furore Verlag
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
EmotionEmotionCD $20.98
...I, Laika... for flute, cello, and piano
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Calgary