for full orchestra

Composition Date: 1996
Revision Date: 2005
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 1 x Oboe
  • 1 x Clarinet
  • 1 x Bassoon
  • 1 x Horn
  • 1 x Trumpet
  • 1 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 12 x Violin
  • 6 x Viola
  • 6 x Violoncello
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
According to the Book of Revelations, the Holy City shall descend from Heaven after the Final Judgement. This magnificent city is formed of great walls, with high gates guarded by angels. Seraphim are the highest order of angels, each possesses three pairs of wings. This image offered me the poetic license to compose something pure, yet forceful for three different groups of instruments: woodwind quartet, brass quartet, and strings in the style of "concerto grosso". The grouping of these instruments also resembles the formation of the Holy City, the Great Walls, and the Angels. The music draws parallel meaning to the special purpose and power of Seraphim who protect the Holy City.
-Alice Ho (from the score)

Premiere Information:
March 8, 2005, Beijing China; China National Symphony Orchestra.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1200 H678se 2005
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • January 13, 2005
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (ii, 28 p.) ; 36 cm.
    30 Pages
    Height: 36 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For woodwind quartet, brass quartet, strings (6,6,6,6).
    Composed 1996, revised 2005.
    Photocopy; master of score and parts in CMC Toronto.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
  • Rental


Click here to listen to Seraphim for full orchestra in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Seraphim for full orchestra by Alice Ping Yee Ho (Score)
Printed on demand
Seraphim for full orchestraYou can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver