When you are old (piano score)
for SAA and piano

Peter Berring
Peter Berring
Composition Date: 1999
Duration: 00:06:40
Genre: Choral (9 + Voices), With Solo Instrument, , Keyboards


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Women's chorus
Click here to download full work (7.52 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
When you are Old was premiered by Elektra Women's Choir on November 13th, 1999 in Vancouver. The poignant, reflective nature of this much-beloved poem by William Butler Yeats is beautifully captured by Berring in the quiet, hushed, time-stands-still musical approach. Sparseness of piano accompaniment and melodic setting of the text combine into a nostalgic look at love, unrequited, unrealised, and perhaps even unknown. The modest technical demands of this work allow even amateur choirs to enjoy the rich emotion of the text.
(from the score)

Premiere Information:
November 13, 1999, Vancouver; Elektra Women's Choir.


  • Call Number:
  • MV 6101 B626whn 1999
  • Genre:
  • Choral (9 + Voices), With Solo Instrument, , Keyboards
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • May 11, 2005
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (ii, 9 p.) ; 28 cm.
    11 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For SAA chorus and piano.
    This is the score intended for the pianist.
    Music by Peter Berring on a text by W.B. Yeats.
    Photocopy; master of score in CMC Toronto.
    Words in English.

    Additional People:
    W. B. (William Butler) Yeats
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
LegacyLegacyCD $13.98
When You Are Old (piano Score) for Saa and Piano: Score
(downloadable PDF)

License for 10 copies - select the number of additional voices that will be used to perform this piece

When you are old (piano score) for SAA and piano by Peter Berring (Score)
Printed on demand
When you are old (piano score) for SAA and piano
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver