for piano and orchestra

Composition Date: 1997
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (35.18 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Intravariations was the fruitful result of my ongoing friendship with the dedicatee, Mary Kenedi. Her success with and interest in my solo piano work, Broken Chords, led me to suggest the idea of writing a concerto for her.

Mary Kenedi and I considered various "concerto" options: a standard 3 movement plan, a single movement, even a concertino. Her personal fascination with variation form became the deciding factor. Thus, while Intravariations is every bit a "piano concerto" in sound, its formal shape does not suit the traditional concerto title. "Theme and Variations" or just "Variations" for piano and orchestra seemed too long, cumbersome, and not quite what I had in mind. As I toyed with what exactly I would "vary" in this piece, the preposition intra came to mind. I wanted to explore the notion of variations within variations.

At the heart of this piece is a progression of nine chords. The first and last chords are based in A minor/major. Additionally I constructed nine hybrid scales each containing one of the nine chords. There is also one subsidiary motive first heard on the brass as bridge material between the two parts of Variation 2 (bar 124). The piece begins with a quasi cadenza introduction during which each chord (with its scale) is elaborated upon in one chord (and scale) per bar. A full statement of the theme and nine variations follow. The theme, majestically intoned by the trombones, is stated over the entire chord progression, while most of the variations concentrate on one of the chords and its attendant scale.

Premiere Information:
25/4/1998 Theatre Centre, Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario; Mary Kenedi, piano, Sault Symphony Orchestra, John Wilkinson, conductor.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1361 H824in
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 15, 2005
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score ((103) p.); 28 cm.
    103 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    Parts page count: 168
    23 parts ((168) p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
  • Language Information
  • Main language: English
  • Additional Information:
  • Piano and orchestra: pic-2222; 4231; Timp, perc (3 players); strings
    One movement - various tempi
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Rental
  • Purchase


Click here to listen to Intravariations for piano and orchestra in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Intravariations for Piano and Orchestra: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Suite and SeriousSuite and SeriousCD $20.98
Intravariations for piano and orchestra by Michael S. Horwood (Score)
Printed on demand
Intravariations for piano and orchestraYou can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Calgary, Vancouver