The regnant republic
part 1

Composition Date: 1995
Genre: Mixed Chamber Ensembles (1 to 9 Performers), Quintets, Woodwind(s) / Percussion, Keyboard(s) / Plectral String(s) / Bowed String(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 1 x Vibraphone
  • 1 x Harp
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Double bass
Click here to download full work (9.38 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
In The Prophets of Pella and The Regnant Republic – Part 1, Neceski seems to have reached a new level of poetry in his music. The predominance of the woodwinds, especially the flute, might be some distant echo from a shepherd’s pipe, while the sound of approaching drums reminds us of the military campaigns of Alexander the Great. Both works struggle with trying to reconcile disparate emotions, from the placid and sensuous to the angry and ecstatic.
The Regnant Republic – Part 1 was inspired by recent events concerning the Republic of Macedonia. Once a proud nation, its territory was divided into four parts in 1913 without concern for ethic divisions. In 1991, one of these parts, currently recognized as the Republic of Macedonia, declared independence. External forces continue to thwart the sovereign nation’s attempts for self determination.
The piece depicts the rise of the Republic of Macedonia. A figure between the piano and harp is the foundation upon which the piece is built. A flute and vibraphone melody emerges over the foundation, but for some reason, it is interrupted. As the piece continues, a rhythmical figure permeates the texture, which is violently terminated. The piece comes to a fragile end with an incomplete statement of the Macedonian national anthem.
The melody is a representation of Macedonian nationalism which is continually undermined by abrupt interruptions. These interruptions portray the actions of external forces on Macedonian’s sovereignty, which, although it appears to be completely extinguished, is in fact ever present throughout the work.
Credits: Dwarka, Menon. Liner notes, Prophets of Pella, The; Macedon Editions ME 523-04, 1997.
Creator: Menon Dwarka
Subject: The Regnant Republic
Date Created: 1997


  • Call Number:
  • MI 8557 N619reg 1995
  • Genre:
  • Mixed Chamber Ensembles (1 to 9 Performers), Quintets, Woodwind(s) / Percussion, Keyboard(s) / Plectral String(s) / Bowed String(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • October 29, 2005
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (14 p.) ; 22 x 36 cm.
    14 Pages
    Height: 36 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • For flute, percussion (vibraphone), harp, piano, and contrabass.

    Contains on performance and notation.

    Photocopy; master of score in CMC Toronto.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
The Regnant Republic Part 1: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Prophets of Pella, TheProphets of Pella, TheCD $20.98
The regnant republic part 1 by Z. Chesky Neceski (Score)
Printed on demand
The regnant republic part 1
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver