Ether I
version for 41 strings

Pierre Michaud
Composition Date: 2000
Revision Date: 2002
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, String Orchestra


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x String orchestra
Programme Note:
Ether I was written folliwing a dream about Aristotle's sphere music theory, a theory which explaings that sounds exist in the ether and we merely call them by playing an instrument or by singing. The dream consisted of "floating" in the ether and visiting these sounds one by one. The constant use of crescendos and decrescendos in the work alludes to sounds getting closer or further away, and in the middle section thay seem to dance around. The piece ends as it started, departing slowly form this imaginary soundscape.
Ether I was written for the Bratislava Chamber Soloists.

Premiere Information:
Création en mars 2001 à la salle Chan Centre, Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, Canada ; CBC Radio Orchestra ; Bramwell Tovey, direction.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1500 M622et1 2002
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, String Orchestra
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 10, 2007
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition (v, 25 p.) ; 36 cm.
    30 Pages
    Height: 36 cm
    Width: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Pour 41 cordes (22 vln, 9 alt, 6 cello, 4 cb).
    Dédié au bratislava chamber soloists.
    Composé en 2000 et révisé en 2002.
    Photocopie; l'original se trouve au CMC Montréal.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:


Click here to listen to Ether I version for 41 strings in Centrestreams.

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Ether I version for 41 stringsFor information about this piece, please contact
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver