String quartet no. 2 "Nostalgia"

Composition Date: 2006
Duration: 00:16:00
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
Click here to download full work (7.73 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
The quartet is in four movements and is dedicated to the Del Sol String
Quartet. Each movement contains references to music of the past both in
their formal designs and through the use of quotation. Borrowed materials
as well as references to music from all four movements of Maurice Ravel’s
Quatuor à Cordes can be heard throughout the composition. The third
movement, a loosely structured chaconne, also takes material from Bill
Evans’ versions of My Romance and Alice in Wonderland. As can be symptomatic of the yearning for an irrecoverable past, nostalgia can corrupt
the memory to long for a world that never existed.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3134 S658st2
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • November 26, 2007
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (31 p.) ; 28 cm.
    31 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:

  • 1) Corrente
    2) Caprice – Eine Kleine 9 Music
    3) (Quasi)-Chaconne – (How do you get to) Wonderland?
    4) Chaser – 23.15, heure Océanique
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
String quartet no. 2 "Nostalgia": Score
(downloadable PDF)
String quartet no. 2 "Nostalgia" by Ronald Bruce Smith (Score)
Printed on demand
String quartet no. 2 "Nostalgia"
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver