Music for Piano with Orchestra

Composition Date: 2008
Duration: 00:30:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
This work is not really a conventional concerto, nor a symphony, but rather, a hybrid of the two. The first movement is inspired by Egyptian Oud Music, and is a series of variations on a nine-note Messaien-inspired mode of my own invention. Each subsequent variation before and after the Taqsim has a number of measures divisible by nine. This is also true for some groups of time signatures. While this may seem arbitrary, in fact it is (we composrs are often an arbitrary lot).The second movement is a pastiche of how a slow movement to a concerto might have sounded if Anton Bruckner had written one (however, adaptations of two melodies, Vanocni Rosicka and Orduoan Berbe Dibinoa - Czech baroque and Basque folk origin respectively - are employed). Movement three is titled after an aphorism in Twee (a West African tongue) and means, metaphorically, I'm no better than you are. While using György Ligeti's concept of placing two diatonic melodies a minor ninth apart, my work also moves into different bitonal key realtionships, thereby providing some harmonic movement (although not movement in the traditionanl western classical music sense). It also emulates some African dance music where often one finds regular beats of unequal length. The final movement uses two Renaissance melodies as its foundation, A la guerra, A la Guerra, And the title melody. In additiion, there is a melody for the second group (we are dealing with sonata form, here) wiech has its origins in the folk music of the langue d'Oc region of France.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1361 D252mus
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • May 8, 2008
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (i, 71 p.); 35.5 cm
    71 Pages
    Height: 35.5 cm
    Width: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Pour piano et orchestre: 2(picc.)2 (c ang)22, 2110, 2 percussions, celesta, harpe, cordes
    Percussion 1: glockenspiel, vibraphone, large tam-tam, wind chimes bell tree, small triangle, sleigh bells, medium cowbell
    Percussion 2: snare drum, suspended cymbal, tenaor and bass congas, large drum, whip, and guiro
    PDF au CMC Montréal
    1. Taqsim (c.11 min.)
    2. Troppo adagio (c.9 min 30 sec)
    3. Hwan ya ako tie fie na ontaa (c.1 min 15 sec)
    4. It was a lover and his lass (7 min 15 sec
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Music for Piano with OrchestraFor information about this piece, please contact
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver