A new beginning
for soprano, mezzo-soprano, alto, tenor, baritone, bass

Composition Date: 2008
Duration: 00:03:00
Genre: Five to Eight Voices, A Capella


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Soprano
  • 1 x Mezzo Soprano
  • 1 x Alto
  • 1 x Tenor
  • 1 x Baritone
  • 1 x Bass
Click here to download full work (7.09 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
This choral work was commissioned by the Canadian Music Centre, BC Region for BC's 150th Anniversary Celebrations with the aid of a special BC150 grant from the BC Gaming Commission.
The period following WWII between 1945 and 1958 was a new beginning for many British Columbians who searched for ways to rebuild their lives and their communities following the devastation of the war. The poetry of Peter Gillespie expresses this challenge while focusing on issues of diversity, creativity, and prosperity. Although written specifically for setting to music, the poetry avoids regular metrical articulation which reflects the difficulties of the new beginning yet emulates the steady motivation of hope. This approach proved a challenge for the composer since regular phrasal construction was not feasible. Instead, smaller groupings of melodic ideas were created which were combined together to form longer phrases producing musical momentum from beginning to end. The work utilizes a primarily collective approach by the choir to the elocution of the poetry with individual voices intermittently supporting and enriching the musical ideas and words expressed by the group. This homophonic approach is complemented by primarily stepwise motion in all of the voices which results in flowing voice-leading and contributes to a sense of forward motion. It was important to utilize both an individualistic and communal approach in the presentation of the words in order to mirror the individual and community efforts of post war restoration. Further, the stepwise motion suggested the cautious progress being achieved. The work was written for both professional and amateur choirs and provides a glimpse into an important period of time within the multiplicity of British Columbia's history.

Premiere Information:
23/11/2008 Christ Church Cathedral Vancouver, BC Jennifer Driscoll-Holmes (soprano), Liz Hamel (mezzo-soprano), Jaime Ashurst (alto), Carman J. Price (tenor), Peter Alexander (baritone), and Paul Nash (bass).


  • Call Number:
  • MV 5000 G478ne
  • Genre:
  • Five to Eight Voices, A Capella
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • December 9, 2008
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (9 p.) ;
    9 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Soprano, Mezzo-Soprano, Alto, Tenor, Baritone, Bass
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
A New Beginning for Soprano, Mezzo-soprano, Alto, Tenor, Baritone, Bass: Score
(downloadable PDF)
A new beginning for soprano, mezzo-soprano, alto, tenor, baritone, bass by Yvonne Gillespie (Score)
Printed on demand
A new beginning for soprano, mezzo-soprano, alto, tenor, baritone, bass
Library Loan