Archimedes Codex
for violin and orchestra

Michael Oesterle
Michael Oesterle
Composition Date: 2008
Duration: 00:20:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Violin(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 2 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 2 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:
Archimedes of Syracuse (Greece) was a philosopher, engineer and
mathematician who lived between 287 BC and 212 BC. His codex, a
collection of his seminal writings, provided the basis of much of
today’s understanding of geometry and physics. I composed “Archimedes’
Codex" in nine short movements based on a selection of the elegantly
simple titles of his essays. Each movement attempts to reflect the
properties of physics or geometry proposed, while creating a
synchronous path that constitutes the stages of discovery—from first
inspiration, to “eureka,” to the realization that there is always more
to discover.
The original version of "Archimedes’ Codex" was composed in 2004 for
violin and chamber strings and consisted of 6 movements. I orchestrated
three movements from the original piece, and added six new
movements. This new version of "Archimedes’ Codex" was written for
violinist Müge Büyükcelen and the Victoria Symphony Orchestra.


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1311 O29arch
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Violin(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • February 2, 2009
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (ii, 71 p.) ;
    73 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
    Width: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Pour violon solo et orchestre: 2(picc)222/2221/timbales/cordes.
    Oeuvre en 9 mouvements: I. On Plane Equilibriums -- II. Quadrature of the Parabola -- III. Measurement of the Circle -- IV. On the Sphere and Cylinder -- V. Trapezium (part 1) -- VI. The Sandreckoner -- VII. Trapezium (part 2) -- VIII. On Floating Bodies -- IX. Methods of Geometry
    Écrit pour le violoniste Müge Büyükçelen et le Victoria Symphony Orchestra.
    Il existe également une version de cette oeuvre pour violon et orchestre de chambre.
    Original se trouve au CMC Québec
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product