Cello Concerto

Composition Date: 2007
Duration: 00:19:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Cello(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 2 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 1 x Trombone
  • 2 x Percussion
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Violoncello ( Solo )
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Violoncello ( Solo )
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (13.76 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
This Cello Concerto is approximately 19 minutes in duration and is in two movements of nearly equal length: 1) Intrados (Elegy); 2) Extrados. Both these terms come from the field of architecture. Intrados is the lower or inside curve of an arch and extrados is the opposite; the upper or outside curve of an arch. Generally speaking, this work follows this pattern:
Mvt I) Intrados (Elegy) presents an asymmetrical arch-form that folds in on itself. The overall mood of this movement is one of confinement and grief with some brief glimpses of release. An extended solo cadenza accounts for about a third of this movement.
Mvt II) Extrados is much more positive in spirit. After a brief introduction, an agitated and restless figure in the solo cello sets the tone for the movement. This figure is transformed as the movement progresses and is reinterpreted in a much more positive light by the close of the work. My intention for this work was to explore the complex and personal trajectory of mourning.
This Concerto is dedicated to the memory of my father, Christopher Robin Scott (1931-2007).

Premiere Information:
02/05, 2008 Thunder Bay, Ontario Paul Marleyn, solo cello; Thunder Bay Symphony Orchestra Conductor: Geoffrey Moull


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1313 S425ce
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Cello(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • August 6, 2009
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (55 p.) ; 28 cm.
    55 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    Parts page count: 144
    21 parts ([144] p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    1 solo part (20 p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Cello and orchestra
    Instrumentation: 2(pic)-2-2(bs cl)-2;2-2-1-0;2P;pno;vc solo;strings (7,5,4,4,3)
    1) Intrados (Elegy)
    2) Extrados
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:


Click here to listen to Cello Concerto in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Cello Concerto: Solo Parts
Solo Parts
(downloadable PDF)
Cello Concerto by David Raphael Scott (Score)
Printed on demand
Cello Concerto: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Cello Concerto You can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver, Rental Library