for solo horn and orchestra

Composition Date: 2010
Duration: 00:26:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, French Horn(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 4 x Horn
  • 1 x Horn ( Solo )
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 1 x Percussion
  • 1 x Harp
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Horn ( Solo )
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (14.39 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
'Mosaic' was inspired by the idea of creating a dreamscape, with the solo horn as the central character: the one experiencing the dream. I was interested in exploring the idea of dreaming as a means of processing ideas and information, but at the same time, being aware that dreaming is not a process over which we have the same degree of control as we do over our conscious thoughts. Just as real-life information and experiences are filtered and transformed through the dreaming process, several motivic ideas recur and are transformed throughout the various movements. The piece is structured in five movements (attacca), beginning with the lower strings emulating the slow breathing of one falling asleep. The second movement is bright, with melodic reference to a pelog gamelan scale. The third movement begins with a duet between solo horn and solo cello, expanding outwards from the first three notes of Brahms' famous Lullaby, and evolving into something much more intense at the climax of the piece. The fourth movement is a cadenza for the solo horn, leading into the fifth movement, which contains reference to an out-of-body experience.

Premiere Information:
11/06/2010 Vancouver Technical Theatre Vancouver, BC West Coast Symphony Orchestra Solo Horn- Oliver de Clercq (guest soloist) Conductor: Bujar Llapaj


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1332 K741mo
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, French Horn(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 7, 2010
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (ii, 71 p.) ; 36 cm.
    73 Pages
    Height: 36 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    Parts page count: 224
    26 parts (available for rental) ([224] p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    1 solo part (15 p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • for solo horn and orchestra (2222/4231/T+1Perc/Hp/Str).

    In 5 movements.

    IV. (cadenza)

    (note: all mvts are 'attacca')
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
  • Rental


Click here to listen to Mosaic for solo horn and orchestra in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Mosaic for solo horn and orchestra: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Mosaic for solo horn and orchestra: Solo Parts
Solo Parts
(downloadable PDF)
Mosaic for solo horn and orchestra by Elizabeth Knudson (Score)
Printed on demand
Mosaic for solo horn and orchestraYou can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Calgary, Vancouver