Header - Sheet Music

Vitrine des compositeurs

Elizabeth Raum: Biographie

Elizabeth Raum
1945 -
Région: Ontario

Elizabeth Raum

Elizabeth Raum mène une double carrière de hautboïste et de compositrice. Elle a obtenu son baccalauréat en musique en interprétation (hautbois) de la Eastman School of Music en 1966, et sa maîtrise en composition de l’Université de Regina en 1985. Pendant sept ans, elle a occupé le poste de hautbois solo au sein de l’Atlantic Symphony Orchestra à Halifax, avant de s’installer à Regina en 1975. Elle est maintenant hautbois solo au Regina Symphony Orchestra.

Compositrice extrêmement prolifique, elle a écrit trois opéras, plus de 50 œuvres de chambre, 15 œuvres vocales, plusieurs œuvres chorales dont un oratorio, divers ballets, concertos et œuvres orchestrales d’envergure. Les compositions d’Elizabeth Raum ont remporté des prix prestigieux et ont été exécutées en Amérique du Nord, en Europe, en Amérique du Sud, en Chine, au Japon et en Russie, en plus d’être régulièrement diffusées à la Société Radio-Canada. Elizabeth Raum, qui a la réputation d’être l’un des compositeurs les plus «accessibles» au Canada, écrit pour diverses formations et dans des styles remarquablement variés.

Elle a composé à l’intention de plusieurs des meilleurs artistes du monde, notamment la soprano canadienne Tracy Dahl; le tromboniste virtuose suédois Christian Lindberg; la vedette américaine du tuba Roger Bobo; le tuba canadien John Griffiths; le cor solo du New York Philharmonic, Phil Meyers; l’ancien trombone basse du Boston Symphony, Gordon Hallberg; l’ancien trombone solo du City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Ken Shifrin; et sa fille, la violoniste canadienne Erika Raum.

Elizabeth Raum a également composé de la musique pour le cinéma et la vidéo, et elle a gagné des prix pour les bandes sonores des documentaires Saskatchewan River; Like Mother, Like Daughter; ainsi que du long métrage Sparkle. Elle a réalisé le premier vidéo classique au Canada avec une musique originale; intitulé Evolution : A Theme With Variations, ce vidéo fut créé lors d’une soirée de gala à Radio-Canada en 1986. Parmi ses autres collaborations dans le domaine du cinéma, citons les films Prelude to Parting, The Green Man Ballet et Symphony of Youth, tous présentés au réseau national de la télévision.

Au nombre de ses enregistrements commerciaux figurent l’enregistrement par le Regina Symphony Orchestra de son œuvre Prairie Alphabet Musical Parade, inspirée du conte pour enfants populaire A Prairie Alphabet; et un CD de concertos pour tuba, The Legend of Heimdall, enregistré par l’Orchestre de la Chapelle de Saint-Pétersbourg, en Russie, avec le soliste John Griffiths, sous la direction de Richard Raum.

Des articles sur Elizabeth Raum sont parus dans le New Grove’s Dictionary of Music and Musicians, le New Grove’s Dictionary of Opera, le New Grove’s Dictionary of Women Composers, Opera Canada, l’Encyclopédie de la Musique au Canada, le Tuba Journal, la Scène musicale et Prairie Sounds. Mme Raum a été membre de jurys du Conseil des Arts du Canada, du Conseil des Arts de l’Ontario, de la Société Radio-Canada et du Centre de musique canadienne. Sa musique est publiée aux Éditions Bim (Suisse), Virgo (Grande-Bretagne), Warwick (Grande-Bretagne). Southern (États-Unis), Alry (États-Unis) et Tuba/Euphonium Press (États-Unis). Conférencière très en demande, elle a prononcé des conférences à des congrès de la SOCAN, d’Orchestres Canada, du Scotia Festival of Music, de la Saskatchewan Federation of Music Teachers, de la Saskatchewan Music Festival Association et de l’Alliance for Canadian New Music Projects.

2002

Musiflots

Cliquez ici pour écouter toutes les œuvres de Elizabeth Raum

Header - Sheet Music

COMPOSER SHOWCASE

Elizabeth Raum: Biography

Elizabeth Raum
1945 -
Region: Ontario

Elizabeth Raum

Elizabeth Raum is active both as an oboist and as a composer. She earned her Bachelor of Music in oboe performance from the Eastman School of Music in 1966 and her Master of Music in composition from the University of Regina in 1985. She played principal oboe in the Atlantic Symphony Orchestra in Halifax, Nova Scotia, for 7 years before coming to Regina in 1975. She now plays principal oboe in the Regina Symphony Orchestra.

An extremely prolific composer, her works include 3 operas, over 50 chamber pieces, 15 vocal works, choral works including an oratorio, several ballets, concerti and major orchestral works. Pieces by Elizabeth Raum have won many prestigious awards, have been heard throughout North America,Europe, South America, China, Japan, and Russia, and have been broadcast extensively on the CBC. She enjoys a reputation of being one of Canada's most "accessible" composers, writing for varied mediums and in remarkably diverse styles.

Raum has written for some of the worlds finest artists including Canadian soprano, Tracy Dahl; Swedish trombone virtuoso, Christian Lindberg; American tuba icon, Roger Bobo; Canadian tubist, John Griffiths; New York Philharmonic principal hornist, Phil Meyers; former bass trombonist of the Boston Symphony, Gordon Hallberg; former principal trombonist of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra, Ken Shifrin; and her daughter, Canadian violinist, Erika Raum.

She has also written for film and video, and has won awards for the scores to the documentaries, Saskatchewan River; Like Mother, Like Daughter; and the feature length film, Sparkle. She produced Canada's first classical video with originally written music entitled, Evolution: A ThemeWith Variations, which was premiered at a gala event at the CBC in 1986. Other film collaborations include Prelude to Parting, The Green Man Ballet, and Symphony of Youth, all broadcast on national television.

Raum’s commercial releases include, among others, the Regina Symphony Orchestra recording of her Prairie Alphabet Musical Parade, inspired by the popular children's book, A Prairie Alphabet and her CD of tuba concertos, The Legend of Heimdall, recorded by the Orchestra of the Capella of St. Petersburg, Russia,with John Griffiths, soloist, and conducted by Richard Raum.

Ms. Raum has been featured in articles in the New Grove's Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the New Grove’s Dictionary of Opera, the New Grove's Dictionary of Women Composers, Opera Canada, the Encyclopedia of Music in Canada, the Tuba Journal, Music Scene, and Prairie Sounds. She has served on juries for the Canada Council, the Saskatchewan Arts Board, the Manitoba Arts Council, the Ontario Arts Council, the CBC, and the Canadian Music Centre. Ms. Raum's music is published by Editions Bim (Switzerland), Virgo, (Great Britain), Warwick, (Great Britain), Southern (U.S.), Alry (U.S.), and the Tuba/Euphonium Press (U.S.) She is also in demand as a speaker on composition and has given lectures at conferences for SOCAN, Orchestras Canada, the Scotia Festival of Music, the Saskatchewan Federation of Music Teachers, the Saskatchewan Music Festival Association and the Alliance for Canadian New Music Projects.

2002

Centrestreams

Click here to listen to all works by Elizabeth Raum