Header - Sheet Music

Vitrine des compositeurs

Elliot Weisgarber: Biographie

Elliot Weisgarber
1919 - 2001
Région: Colombie-Britannique

Elliot Weisgarber

Le regretté compositeur, clarinettiste et ethnomusicologue Elliot Weisgarber fut professeur de musique à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique de 1960 à sa retraite en 1984.

Il reçut sa formation musicale à la Eastman School of Music, où il obtint un baccalauréat et une maîtrise en musique ainsi qu’un Performer’s Certificate en clarinette. À Eastman, il étudia la clarinette avec Rufus M. Arey. Auparavant, il avait étudié avec Rosario Mazzeo du Boston Symphony Orchestra, et avec Gustave Langenus pendant trois ans et demi. Il avait aussi mérité une bourse décernée par la regrettée Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge pour étudier l’interprétation de la musique de chambre à South Mountain à Pittsfield, au Massachusetts, où il naquit en 1919. Edward Royce, Bernard Rogers Howard Hanson, Halsey Stevens et Nadia Boulanger furent parmi ses professeurs de composition.

Avant d’être recruté par l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique, Weisgarber enseigna pendant 14 ans à la School of Music du Woman’s College of the University of North Carolina (aujourd’hui UNC-Greensboro). Son départ pour la côte ouest alimenta son intérêt déjà marqué pour les cultures asiatiques; par la suite, il passa beaucoup de temps au Japon pour y étudier la musique classique de ce pays, en particulier le shakuhachi (flûte de bambou verticale). Sa connaissance approfondie de la musique japonaise allait imprégner de manière considérable son propre style de composition.

Au moment de son décès, son catalogue comptait 450 compositions, y compris de la musique de chambre, des mélodies, des œuvres pour orchestre ainsi que des bandes sonores pour le cinéma, la radio et la télévision. Elliot Weisgarber est décédé le 31 décembre 2001, à l’âge de 82 ans.

2002

Musiflots

Cliquez ici pour écouter toutes les œuvres de Elliot Weisgarber

Header - Sheet Music

COMPOSER SHOWCASE

Elliot Weisgarber: Biography

Elliot Weisgarber
1919 - 2001
Region: British Columbia

Elliot Weisgarber

ELLIOT WEISGARBER, the late composer, clarinetist and ethnomusicologist served on the faculty of the University of British Columbia as a music professor from 1960 until his retirement in 1984.

Weisgarber received his own education at the Eastman School of Music where he earned both his Bachelor of Music and Master of Music degrees as well as the Performer's Certificate in Clarinet. At Eastman he studied clarinet with Rufus M. Arey. Earlier, he studied with Rosario Mazzeo of the Boston Symphony and, for three and a half years with Gustave Langenus. He held a scholarship for chamber music performance study granted by the late Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge at South Mountain in Pittsfield, Massachusetts where he was born in 1919. His composition teachers include Edward Royce, Bernard Rogers, Howard Hanson, Halsey Stevens and Nadia Boulanger.

Before joining the faculty at UBC Weisgarber served for 14 years on the faculty of the School of Music at the Woman's College of the University of North Carolina (now UNC-Greensboro). His move to the west coast nourished an already well-developed interest in Asian cultures and he subsequently spent much time in Japan studying the classical music of that country, notably the shakuhachi (vertical bamboo flute). His deep knowledge of Japanese music was to permeate much of his own compositional style.

By the time of his death he had created a catalog of 450 compositions including chamber music, songs, orchestral works and scores for film, radio and television. Elliot Weisgarber passed away on Dec. 31, 2001 at the age of 82.

2002

Centrestreams

Click here to listen to all works by Elliot Weisgarber