Header - Sheet Music

Vitrine des compositeurs

Stewart Grant: Biographie

Stewart Grant
1948 -
Région: Québec

Stewart Grant

Stewart Grant, compositeur, chef d’orchestre et hautboïste, est né à Fort William en Ontario, mais il a passé son enfance à Montréal, où il a reçu sa formation musicale à la Faculté de musique de l’Université McGill et au Conservatoire de musique du Québec, méritant un Premier Prix de hautbois dans la classe de Melvin Berman. Il a aussi poursuivi des études à Tanglewood et à Aspen et a fait parti de l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada, où il a été l'élève de Ray Still de l’Orchestre symphonique de Chicago. Alors qu’il était toujours étudiant à l’Université McGill, M. Grant a mis sur pied et dirigé un orchestre de chambre qui comprenait des étudiants et de McGill et du Conservatoire de musique du Québec. Ses études terminées, il est devenu membre de faculté à ces deux écoles et a commencé sa carrière de hautboïste, jouant avec l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l’Orchestre de Radio Canada et Les Grands Ballets Canadiens.

En 1972, M. Grant est devenu membre de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts à Ottawa, dont il a fait parti pendant deux saisons avant de prendre la décision de poursuivre une carrière de compositeur et de chef d’orchestre. Il s'est installé alors à Toronto, où il a joué avec la Compagnie d'Opéra Canadienne, le Ballet National du Canada, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Hamilton et le Saint Andrew’s Consort, tout en suivant des cours privés de composition et d'arrangement de jazz avec Gordon Delamont.

En 1978, M. Grant a été nommé Directeur musical de l’Orchestre symphonique de Lethbridge, en Alberta. Pendant les seize années qui ont suivi, il a établi cet ensemble comme l’un des meilleurs orchestres semi-professionnels au Canada, créant Musaeus comme ensemble de chambre en résidence, fondant le Southern Alberta Chamber Orchestra et prolongeant la saison de sept concerts à un total approximatif de soixante concerts annuels à caractère varié. Ses années à Lethbridge lui ont permis aussi de se perfectionner comme compositeur lors d'une situation idéale où la composition faisait partie de ses activités régulières dans la communauté. En plus, il s'est présenté comme chef invité auprès d’autres orchestres au Canada et aux États-unis, tout en poursuivant sa carrière de hautboïste et de pédagogue, notamment par de nombreux concerts et émissions comme membre de Musaeus en Alberta, et lors de tournées qui l'ont conduit jusqu'en Union-soviétique. En 1988, en reconnaissance de ses réalisations à Lethbridge, il a gagné le Prix Heinz Unger décerné aux chefs d’orchestre en pleine carrière.

Depuis son retour au Québec en 1995, M. Grant a composé des oeuvres pour une variété d'artistes reputés, dont l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, l'Orchestre de chambre de l'Estrie, l'Ensemble Musica Nova, le violoniste Martin Beaver, Le Quatuor Claudel, le pianiste Paul Stewart, le Choeur de chambre canadien, le quatuor de saxophones Saxart et les quintettes à vent Ayorama et Estria. Il s'est également présenté comme chef invité et a joué comme hautboïste avec une variété d'orchestres symphoniques, à la Faculté de musique de l’Université McGill et lors de la série de musique de chambre de l'Orchestre du Centre national des arts au Musée des beaux arts du Canada. Comme membre du duo Jaï, qu'il a formé en collaboration avec son épouse, la violoncelliste Joanne Grant, il a présenté de nombreux concerts et a réalisé un disque compact avec l'organiste Patrick Wedd. En 1999, il a été nommé directeur artistique de l'Orchestre symphonique des jeunes du West-Island, avec qui il sèst présenté en tournée en France et avec qui il a réalisé leur premier disque compact, Voix du Nord.

Pendant sa carrière, Stewart Grant a également écrit des oeuvres pour des artistes tels que les orchestres symphoniques d’Edmonton et de Régina, The Thirteen Strings of Ottawa, la Saskatoon Sinfonietta, les pianistes Charles Foreman et Glen Montgomery, l’Orchestre philharmonique de Hamilton, The Foothills Brass, l’organiste Dom André Laberge et la célèbre contralto Maureen Forrester. Ses oeuvres ont été interprètées aussi par une variété d'artistes et ensembles réputés tels que l'Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver, l'Orchestre de chambre du Manitoba, Les Violons du Roy, l'Orchestre symphonique de Saskatoon - dont il a été "Compositeur de la saison" en 1995-96 - I Musici de Montréal, The Aeolian Winds, l'Orchestre national des jeunes, le pianiste Stéphane Lemelin et James Sommerville, corniste solo de l'Orchestre symphonique de Boston. Sa musique a été entendue dans tout le Canada sur les réseaux CBC et SRC et, en concert, en Europe, aux États-unis, en Inde et en Amérique du sud. Ses oeuvres sont distribuées par la compagnie Theodore Presser et par le Centre de musique canadienne.

En 2001, la compagnie Patenaude Communications d'Edmonton en association avec Dinosaur Soup Productions Inc. a réalisé Rêveries, un projet video basé sur la composition symphonique Sam Black Sketches de Stewart Grant. Ce documentaire de télévision explore le processus créatif selon les perspectives du compositeur et du peintre Sam Black, dont les esquisses et tableaux ont inspiré l'oeuvre. Il se termine par une représentation complète de l'oeuvre par l'Orchestre symphonique d'Edmonton sous la direction de David Hoyt. Depuis sa création, ce filme a gagné de nombreux prix et a été diffusé à plusieurs reprises aux réseaux Canal D, Radio-Canada et Bravo!

Musiflots

Cliquez ici pour écouter toutes les œuvres de Stewart Grant

Header - Sheet Music

COMPOSER SHOWCASE

Stewart Grant: Biography

Stewart Grant
1948 -
Region: Québec

Stewart Grant

Stewart Grant is a musician who brings to his work the insight of more than thirty years’ experience as a composer whose music has been performed by major artists in Canada and abroad, as an award-winning conductor, and as a chamber and orchestral musician who has performed with many of Canada’s finest orchestras.

Stewart Grant was born in 1948, in Fort William, Ontario, but he grew up and received his early musical training in Montréal, graduating from the faculty of Music at McGill University and the Conservatoire de musique du Québec, where he was awarded a Premier Prix in oboe in the class of Melvin Berman. His studies also included summers at Tanglewood, at the Aspen Music School and as a member of the National Youth Orchestra of Canada, where he studied with Ray Still, principal oboist of the Chicago Symphony. While still a student, Mr. Grant organized and directed a chamber orchestra comprising students from both McGill and the Conservatoire de musique du Québec. Upon graduation, he joined the faculties of both these institutions and began his career as an oboist, performing with the Montreal Symphony Orchestra, l’Orchestre de Radio-Canada and Les Grands Ballets Canadiens.

In 1972, Mr. Grant joined the National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa, and it during his two seasons with his organization that he decided to pursue a career as a composer and conductor. He subsequently moved to Toronto, where he performed as oboist with the Canadian Opera Company, the National Ballet, the Hamilton Philharmonic and the St. Andrew’s Consort while pursuing studies in Composition and jazz arranging with Gordon Delamont.

In 1978, Mr. Grant was named Music Director of the Lethbridge Symphony Orchestra in Alberta. Over the sixteen years he held this position, he developed the Lethbridge Symphony into one of Canada’s finest semi-professional musical organizations – establishing Musaeus as its resident professional chamber ensemble, founding the Southern Alberta Chamber Orchestra, and expanding the season from seven to a total of approximately sixty performances of various kinds per year. During his years in Lethbridge, he continued to develop as a composer in an ideal situation where his writing was part of his normal activities within the community. He also appeared as a guest conductor with orchestras in both Canada and the United States while remaining active as an oboist and pedagogue, teaching both in Lethbridge and at the biannual Canadian Festival of Youth Orchestras at the Banff Centre, and presenting countless performances and broadcasts as a member of Musaeus throughout Alberta and as far afield as the former Soviet Union. In 1998, in recognition of his accomplishments in Lethbridge, he was presented with the Heinz Unger Award at the national conference of the Association of Canadian Orchestras.

Since returning to Québec in 1995, Mr. Grant has composed commissioned works for various artists and ensembles, including the Montréal Symphony Orchestra, l’Orchestre de chambre de l’Estrie, Ensemble Musica Nova, violinist Martin Beaver, Le Quatuor Claudel, the Canadian Chamber Choir, the Ayorama and Estria Wind Quintets, pianist Paul Stewart and the Ottawa saxophone quartet Saxart. He has performed as a guest conductor and oboist with various orchestras, at the McGill University Faculty of Music and on the National Arts Centre Orchestra’s chamber series at the National Gallery. As a member of the duo Jaï which he formed with his wife, ‘cellist Joanne Grant, he has performed numerous concerts and produced a CD with organist Patrick Wedd. Since the fall of 1999, he has been Artistic Director of the West Island Youth Symphony Orchestra, with whom he toured France in the summer of 2001 and with whom he produced Voix du Nord, the orchestra’s first compact disc.

Over the course of his career, Stewart Grant has also written for artists such as the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra, the Regina Symphony Orchestra, the Hamilton Philharmonic, the Saskatoon Sinfonietta, the Foothills Brass, pianists Charles Foreman and Glen Montgomery, The Thirteen Strings of Ottawa, organist Dom André Laberge and contralto Maureen Forrester. His compositions have been performed by orchestras from coast to coast, including the Vancouver and Newfoundland Symphony Orchestras, Les Violons du Roy, the Saskatoon Symphony Orchestra – for whom he was “Composer of the Season” for 1995-96 – I Musici de Montréal, Symphony Nova Scotia, the National Youth Orchestra and the Manitoba Chamber Orchestra, as well as by artists such as pianist Stéphane Lemelin, The Aeolian Winds and James Sommerville, principal horn of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. His music has been frequently broadcast across Canada on CBC Radio and has been performed in Europe, the United States, India and South America. His works are available through the Canadian Music Centre and the Theodore Presser Company.

The year 2001 saw the release of Sharing Visions, an award-winning television documentary based on Stewart Grant’s Sam Black Sketches that explores the creative process both from his perspective as a composer and from the perspective of painter Sam Black, whose sketches, paintings and prints provided the inspiration for the composition. The film culminates in a performance of the twenty-minute work by the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra under the direction of David Hoyt. A production of Patenaude Communications in association with Dinosaur Soup Productions, it has since been frequently aired on Radio-Canada, CFRN-TV, Canal D and the Canadian arts network Bravo!

Centrestreams

Click here to listen to all works by Stewart Grant