Header - Sheet Music

Vitrine des compositeurs

C. Scott Tresham: Biographie

C. Scott Tresham
1974 -
Région: Québec

C. Scott Tresham

Né à Ottawa en 1974, C. Scott Tresham a d’abord fait parler de lui après la radiodiffusion au réseau de la SRC de son oeuvre intitulée Puer natus in Bethlehem (1990), créée par l’Amadeus Choir sous la direction de Lydia Adams, et aussi grâce à la publication chez Gordon V. Thompson Music de Hodie Christus natus est (1991), gravé sur disque par le Toronto Mendelssohn Choir et des membres du Toronto Symphony Orchestra sous la direction d’Elmer Iseler.

Après avoir terminé l’Arts Canterbury Programme en musique (Fine Arts Certificate, 1992), Scott Tresham a étudié la clarinette à l’Université de Toronto (1993-1994), et la composition avec Stephen Chatman et Keith Hamel à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique (baccalauréat en musique, 1997). Des bourses du Conseil des Arts du Canada et du BC Arts Council lui ont permis ensuite de faire des études supérieures en Angleterre, où il a suivi les cours et les séminaires de Simon Bainbridge, George Benjamin, Harrison Birtwistle, Franco Donatoni, Judith Weir et John White, entre autres. Il a obtenu une maîtrise en musique en composition du King’s College de Londres en 1998.

Scott Tresham a reçu des commandes du Bel Canto Wind Quintet, de la radio de la SRC, d’Espace Musique, du Montreal Organ Consort et du Thirteen Strings Chamber Orchestra. L’intérêt qu’il porte aux ensembles amateurs lui a valu des commandes de la Canterbury High School, de la Christ Church Cathedral à Montréal, du Deep River Symphony Orchestra et de la Société chorale d’Ottawa. Plusieurs de ses oeuvres ont été présentées au Festival international de musique de chambre d’Ottawa, et sa musique est exécutée par d’éminents interprètes canadiens dont la liste s’allonge constamment; citons Nils Brown, Rita Costanzi, Andrew Dawes, Eve Egoyan, Sandra Graham, Stéphane Lemelin, Julie Nesrallah, Gary Relyea, Jean-François Rivest, Earl Stafford, Patrick Wedd et Matthew White.

En plus de mener un carrière de compositeur indépendant, Scott Tresham enseigne la composition au Conservatoire de musique de McGill, et il occupe la fonction de directeur artistique de la série estivale de musique nouvelle Jusqu’aux oreilles, à Montréal.

2001

Header - Sheet Music

COMPOSER SHOWCASE

C. Scott Tresham: Biography

C. Scott Tresham
1974 -
Region: Québec

C. Scott Tresham

Born in Ottawa in 1974, C. SCOTT TRESHAM first came to public attention with the CBC's national broadcast of Puer natus in Bethlehem (1990) premiered by the Amadeus Choir under Lydia Adams, and with Hodie Christus natus est (1991) published by Gordon V. Thompson Music and released on a recording by the Toronto Mendelssohn Choir with members of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra under Elmer Iseler.

After completing the Arts Canterbury Programme in music (Fine Arts Certificate, 1992), Tresham went on to study clarinet at the University of Toronto (1993-94) and composition with Stephen Chatman and Keith Hamel at the University of British Columbia (Bachelor of Music Degree, 1997). Grants awarded by the Canada Council and the BC Arts Council enabled him to pursue post-graduate studies in England, where he attended lectures and seminars given by Simon Bainbridge, George Benjamin, Harrison Birtwistle, Franco Donatoni, Judith Weir and John White, among others. He completed the Master of Music Degree in composition at King's College London in 1998.

Tresham has received commissions from the Bel Canto Wind Quintet, CBC Radio, Espace Musique, the Montreal Organ Consort and the Thirteen Strings Chamber Orchestra. Also, his interest in writing for community ensembles has led to commissions from Canterbury High School, Christ Church Cathedral Montreal, the Deep River Symphony Orchestra, and the Ottawa Choral Society. Several of his works have been featured at the Ottawa International Chamber Music Festival, and his music has been performed by a growing list of prominent Canadian musicians including Nils Brown, Rita Costanzi, Andrew Dawes, Eve Egoyan, Sandra Graham, Stéphane Lemelin, Julie Nesrallah, Gary Relyea, Jean-François Rivest, Earl Stafford, Patrick Wedd and Matthew White.

In addition to his career as free-lance composer, Tresham currently teaches composition at the McGill Conservatory of Music, and since 1999 he has been artistic director of the Up to Your Ears! Summer New Music Series in Montreal.

2001