Music in Square
for string quartet

Maya Badian
Maya Badian
Composition Date: 1993
Duration: 00:08:00
Genre: Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
Click here to download full work (16.20 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
"Dr. Maya Badian is one of the most significant Canadian contemporary composers, as the author of over 100 published opuses as well as having a prestigious activity in the fields of musicology and teaching. She completed her studies in her native Romania, and afterwards specialized abroad before settling in Montréal in 1987. As a sign of outstanding recognition of Dr. Maya Badian’s rank in the Canadian music pantheon, Library and Archives Canada in Ottawa, the single largest repository of information on Canadian music and musicians both historical and contemporary, requested and preserves her manuscripts and archival documents officially created and titled MAYA-BADIAN FONDS MUS 228, established in 1993, at Library and Archives Canada. MUSIC IN SQUARE, composed in 1993 and revised in 2010, was inspired to the composer by Quartet in Rehearsal, the oil painting of the Montréal-based artist-painter Tibor K. Thomas (1919 – 2010), composer’s uncle. This string quartet unifies eight contrasting sections, unfolding without cease, which delve into the emotional creative level rather than the level of some theoretical calculated speculations. This composition obeys the essence of the string quartet writing techniques, while the polyphony is presented by a free fugato, contrasting the choral’s homophony. The work’s main theme is introduced by the cello in pizzicati and then develops, in imitative ways, through the other partners, always enriched, in both register and expression levels. A series of contrasting sections follow, either presenting a new material, or metamorphosing the previous one, animating the discourse and spectacularly transforming the sonority, from a discrete Andante lontano in pianississimo, to the tumultuous end, Vivo." - Notes from the Hall Program by Ioan Dobrinescu (October 19, 2010.)

Premiere Information:
13 May 2010, Galway, Ireland,
The Galway Ensemble in Residence: ConTempo String Quartet: Bogdan Sofei, violin I; Ingrid Nicola, violin II; Andreea Banciu, viola; Adrian Mantu - cello


  • Call Number:
  • MI 3134 B136mu
  • Genre:
  • Strings (bowed), Solo / Ensemble, Quartet (2 Violin / Viola / Cello)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • August 23, 1989
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (28 p.) ;
    28 Pages
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
    Parts page count: 24
    4 parts ([24] p.) ;
    Height: 30 cm
    Width: 23 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Based on the composer's Movimento pour quinette à vent.
    This composition is inspired by "Quartet in Rehearsal" oil painting by T.K. Thomas (1919-2010), Montréal-based painter.

    I. Allegro con spirito -- II. Andantino fluente e cantabile -- III. A Tempo I -- IV. Meno mosso e cantando -- V. A Tempo I -- VI. Vivo -- VII. Andante lontano -- VII. Vivo
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase

  • Published by Éditions Lucian Badian Editions
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver