Musica Serena

Composition Date: 1974
Revision Date: 1974
Duration: 00:10:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 1 x Oboe
  • 1 x Clarinet
  • 1 x Bassoon
  • 1 x Horn
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Click here to download full work (11.10 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:

Elliot Weisgarber

Musica Serena, 1974

Commissioned by: Vancouver Symphony Orchestra

“truly gorgeous textures...” Deryk Barker, Victoria Times Colonist, November 15, 1999

“dignified, quietly melancholy, yet with the theme of a creative spirit moving throughout it.” Maev Brennan, The Daily Courier, March 19, 1996

“In mid February of 1974, Conrad Crocker a flautist in the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, a distinguished performer and teacher and a highly cultured gentleman and valued colleague, died very suddenly leaving a great hole in our musical community. Within hours of his passing, several members of the VSO... approached Music Director Kazuyoshi Akiyama with the idea of having me compose a memorial work... Within a week a fully edited master score was ready.

“It is scored for strings and five solo woodwinds: flute, doubling on piccolo, oboe, clarinet, bassoon and horn. No elaborate explanation of the music seems necessary. I hope that it speaks for itself.”

Premiere Information:
Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, Kazuyoshi Akiyama, conductor, March 3, 1974


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1200 W427mu
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • September 18, 1989
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • Score
    15 Pages
    Height: 38 cm
    Parts page count: 22
    10 parts
  • Additional Information:
  • 1(picc)111/1000//strings.
    Ms. (photocopy); master of score and parts in CMC Toronto.
    "In memory of our friend and colleague Conrad Crocker (1924-1974)."
    Commissioned by the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra.

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
  • Rental


Click here to listen to Musica Serena in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Musica Serena : Score
(downloadable PDF)
Musica serena by Elliot Weisgarber (Score)
Printed on demand
Musica Serena You can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver, Sackville, Rental Library