pour piano seul

François Morel
Composition Date: 2011
Genre: Keyboard, Piano, One Keyboard, Two Hands


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
Programme Note:
I met Yves Gaucher in 1960. At the time, he was trading painting for engraving so I began collecting several of his works. Shortly before he died, I attended an exhibition of his works and asked for his permission, in the name of our friendship, to use the titles of three of his works: ASAGANO, NAKA and SGANA under the general title of TRINÔMES, which means "Territory". They are the painter/engraver's first prints to have appeared in art galleries and museums and earned him an international reputation.
Since early in his career, Gaucher used an abstract visual idiom without nostalgia for a figurative world. A 'mineral' poetry emerges from one's first encounter with his works. Work on the musical composition began in 2007 and the entire cycle was completed in 2011. The musical work is totally autonomous, as on a parallel course, since only the structures of the works as well as their poetic climate have been kept. My purpose was to pay a posthumous homage to the great painter/engraver Yves Gaucher (1934-2000).
F.M. (from score)


  • Call Number:
  • MI 2110 M839tri
  • Genre:
  • Keyboard, Piano, One Keyboard, Two Hands
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • February 27, 2013
  • Type:
  • Print-music, published
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition (iv, 29 p.) ;
    29 Pages
    Height: 39 cm
    Width: 28 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Pour piano seul.
    Oeuvre en 3 mouvements: I. Asagao -- II. Naka -- III. Sgana
    Dédié à Yves Gaucher.
    Partition publiée chez les éditions Nouveau Théâtre Musical.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

    Library Loan
    This item is only available for library loan

    Printed copies of this title are available from Nouveau Théâtre Musical. Please contact the publisher directly.
    Published by Nouveau Théâtre Musical


Click here to listen to Trinômes pour piano seul in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Umbra SeptentrionisUmbra SeptentrionisCD $13.98
Trinômes pour piano seulFor information about this piece, please contact
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal