(reduced orchestration) for symphony orchestra

Composition Date: 2010
Duration: 00:11:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 2 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 4 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 4 x Percussion ( Divided )
  • 1 x Piano
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (11.82 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
"Alerion" is the Indian mythological equivalent of our Phoenix. At the beginning, the music invokes soaring, as the main melody is played by strings over repeated notes in woodwinds. The form of the piece is a seven part rondo, which can also be thought of as ABACABA. In this scheme the soaring melody is A, while B is a virtuoso trio of Bassoon, Clarinet and Flute, accompanied by piano. This chamber music in the middle of a large orchestra piece explores complicated jazz-inspired riffs. The middle, C section is the Phoenix in its dormant state; expansive violin and cello solos float on a bed of peaceful canonic wind melodies. The string transition out of the C section is simply the transition into the C section, backward; one slows and calms down while the other gains tempo and excitement for the return of the soaring melody. The piece concludes with the main melody transformed into a fugue for strings, with triumphant brass and percussion punctuations. Alerion is dedicated to my wife Silke Lambert, who also gave the piece its title.

Premiere Information:
Oakville, ON
St. Matthew's Catholic Church
26 Nov 2010
Masterworks of Oakville Orchestra (live)
Charles Demuynck, conductor


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1100 D389al
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • May 10, 2013
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (50 p.) ;
    50 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
    Width: 28 cm
    Parts page count: 120
    18 parts (available for rental) ([120] p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Commissioned by Masterworks of Oakville Chorus and Orchestra.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
  • Rental


Click here to listen to Alerion (reduced orchestration) for symphony orchestra in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Alerion (reduced orchestration) for symphony orchestra: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Alerion (reduced orchestration) for symphony orchestra by Dr Charles Demuynck (Score)
Printed on demand
Alerion (reduced orchestration) for symphony orchestraYou can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right