Sungods 2012
chamber orchestra version

Brian Current
Brian Current
Composition Date: 2012
Duration: 00:08:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 1 x Clarinet
  • 1 x Bassoon
  • 1 x Horn
  • 2 x Percussion
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Organ
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
  • 1 x Double bass
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Chamber orch.
Click here to download full work (8.36 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Sungods was written as a solo piano work in 2007 for Winston Choi for his tour across Canada. It was originally called Piano Piece No. 1. The present work is an extrapolation on that piece for 13 players, commissioned by the Banff Centre for performance in November of 2012 by Henk Guittart and the Gruppo Montebello. The structure is kept exactly the same, but the orchestration is filled out and more detail added to the gestures. The original subtitle of Sungods referred to the phrase “let the sun shine down upon all of God’s creatures”. I kept this phrase in mind throughout improvising sessions at the piano, which took place during what seemed like an endlessly grey springtime in Toronto, when we crave even a glimpse of the sun. I was interested in finding music that was very active yet also very calm at the same time, like water or like sunlight.

Premiere Information:
Rolston Hall
30 Nov 2012
Gruppo Montebello
Henk Guittart, conductor


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1200 C972su
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • June 17, 2013
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (90 p.) ;
    90 Pages
    Height: 32 cm
    Width: 24 cm
  • Additional Information:

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Sungods 2012 chamber orchestra version: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Sungods 2012 chamber orchestra version by Brian Current (Score)
Printed on demand
Sungods 2012 chamber orchestra version
Library Loan