Small and Curious Places

Dorothy Chang
Dorothy Chang
Composition Date: 2013
Duration: 00:12:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 1 x Clarinet
  • 1 x Ethnic woodwind
  • 1 x Ethnic percussion
  • 1 x Percussion
  • 1 x Harp
  • 1 x Ethnic plucked strings
  • 1 x Piano
  • 2 x Violin
  • 1 x Viola
  • 1 x Violoncello
  • 1 x Double bass
  • 1 x Ethnic bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Chamber orch.
Click here to download full work (11.62 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
As a second-generation Chinese American (now also Canadian), the issue of cultural self-identity has always been somewhat perplexing. In previous works for mixed Chinese and Western chamber ensemble I used my music as a medium to address this issue head on. In contrast, my most recent work, entitled "Small and Curious Places", puts aside the question of East vs. West and instead approaches the ensemble as a group of individual instruments and their unique characteristics, with none more distinct or exotic than the others. There is no grand, overarching statement in this work; contrarily, the movements are independent of one another, and mostly quite introspective. Each movement is a self-contained miniature, an exploration of a particular sound space. The imaginary and peculiar places of this collection are inspired by various imagery, captured moments or states of mind. In the first movement, “anticipation”, continuously surging momentum provides a framework for the expansion of a single line into increasingly rich, dense and unexpected harmonic sonorities. The second movement, “where lost memories gather” introduces a texture of glassy, static string clusters from which isolated musical gestures emerge and submerge again. “garden of soft shadows” has a limited timbral palette and is characterized by soft whispering and scuttling sounds that evoke a sense of quiet unease. The following movement, “love thyself”, is built up of very short musical bits and fragments that pile up until pent-up energy at last erupts. The last movement is a meditation on the tenuous moment just as waking becomes slumber. “of ever lingering light” is the imaginary place where one might capture this fleeting moment and prolong it, hovering indefinitely within this elusive space.Small and Curious Places was commissioned by Soundstreams.

Premiere Information:
Premiere City: Toronto
Koerner Hall
14 May 2013
Leslie Dala, conductor


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1200 C456sm
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Chamber Orchestra (10 to 20)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • June 24, 2013
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (51 p.) ;
    51 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    Parts page count: 100
    30 parts (available for rental) ([100] p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • 1. anticipation
    2. where lost memories gather
    3. garden of soft shadows
    4. love thyself
    5. of ever lingering light

    commissioned by Soundstreams
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
  • Rental


Click here to listen to Small and Curious Places in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Small and curious places : Score
(downloadable PDF)
Small and Curious Places by Dorothy Chang (Score)
Printed on demand
Small and Curious Places You can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto