Composition Date: 2013
Duration: 00:08:20
Genre: Mixed Chamber Ensembles (1 to 9 Performers), Sextets, Woodwind(s) / Percussion, Keyboard(s) / Bowed String(s)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Flute
  • 1 x Clarinet
  • 1 x Percussion
  • 1 x Piano
  • 1 x Violin
  • 1 x Double bass
Click here to download full work (8.52 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Walking is inspired by the animated short film of the same name, by Montreal-based Ryan Larkin. He was a Canadian artist and animator who rose to prominence when Walking (1968) was nominated for an Academy Award. He only created one other short film after this, entitled Street Music (1972), before his career and life began to spin out of control. He spent the next 4 decades homeless, and suffered an ongoing battle with addiction. It wasn't until 2004 that he overcame his illness and started creating animated bumpers for MTV. He passed away in 2007 from lung cancer which had spread to his brain. The film Walking is a playful and skillful study of people in motion, a spirit that I tried to capture in my piece. What's fascinating to me, in terms of the content of the film itself, is that we only get a quick glimpse of Larkin’s characters as they shuffle, saunter, and dance across the screen. These brief encounters foreshadows Larkin’s relationships and experiences with people as a homeless man. He would say years later in an interview for the film Alter Egos, “I decided it was more interesting to live on the street. At least I get to meet a hundred people a day. . . It’s kind of interesting. . . meeting all these people for just two seconds.” — Chris Thornborrow Please notify the composer of any performances, and for inquiries at: cthornrun@gmail.com

Premiere Information:
Heliconian Hall
2 Feb 2013
The Toy Piano Composers Ensemble: Katherine Watson, Flute; Anthony Thompson, Clarinet; Daniel Morphy, Percussion; Wesley Shen, Piano; Sharon Lee, Violin; Alex Kotyk, Contrabass.
Patrick Murray, conductor


  • Call Number:
  • MI 8655 T441wa
  • Genre:
  • Mixed Chamber Ensembles (1 to 9 Performers), Sextets, Woodwind(s) / Percussion, Keyboard(s) / Bowed String(s)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • June 24, 2013
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (24 p.) ;
    24 Pages
    Height: 32 cm
    Width: 24 cm
    Parts page count: 21
    6 parts ([21] p.) ;
    Height: 32 cm
    Width: 24 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Performance Notes: Finding a log drum with the four specific pitches D#, F#, G#, and B may be tricky. If a log drum is unavailable, use four pieces of two by four lumber of varying lengths that are at the approximate sound range as the four notes indicated.

Associated Community Profile

Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase


Click here to listen to Walking in Centrestreams.

Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Toy Piano ComposersToy Piano ComposersCD $13.98
Walking : Score
(downloadable PDF)
Walking : Score and Parts
Score and Parts
(downloadable PDF)
Walking by Chris Thornborrow (Score)
Printed on demand
Walking by Chris Thornborrow (Score and Parts)
Printed on demand
Library Loan