Hurricane Juan piano concerto

Composition Date: 2008
Duration: 00:25:45
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piccolo
  • 2 x Flute
  • 2 x Oboe
  • 2 x Clarinet
  • 2 x Bassoon
  • 3 x Horn
  • 2 x Trumpet
  • 2 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 2 x Percussion
  • 1 x Piano ( Solo )
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Piano ( Solo )
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Click here to download full work (14.82 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
This piano concerto, is a portrait of Hurricane Juan. The work is in five movements, depicting the twenty-four hours before, during and after the storm. The orchestra and piano alternately portray the emotional charge of both the community and the hurricane. The first movement portrays a normal autumn pastoral day in Halifax. The onset of the beginnings of the storm brings out playful excitement much like the crowds were at the waterfront and the beaches but gradually darkens, leading into the second movement where the storm begins to attack the coastline, during which time the people are caught up with the fascination of the drama of the weather. There is almost a macabre atmosphere to this movement, much like there was during the building of the storm’s ferocity. The third movement represents the storm at full blast in the height of its raging power. The fourth movement is a solo piano cadenza, which brings some peace and stillness after the passing of the storm and previous musical mayhem. The cadenza leads into the final movement, which represents the coming together of our community and the optimistic spirit of the people. The Epilogue uses thematic material from the previous movements, and ends triumphantly.“…a picturesque work richly elaborated with luminous orchestration…Allen’s method was cinematic, a kaleidoscopic montage of motion and turmoil….” The Chronicle Herald, September 28, 2008.Read more about this work at

Premiere Information:
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Rebecca Cohn Auditorium
25 Sep 2008
Symphony Nova Scotia
Maestro Bernhard Gueller, conductor
Peter Allen, piano


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1361 A428hu
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Orchestra with Soloist, Piano
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 3, 2013
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score ([138] p.) ;
    138 Pages
    Height: 43 cm
    Width: 28 cm
    Parts page count: 132
    18 parts (available for rental) ([132] p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
    1 solo piano part (56 p.) ;
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • I. Pastorale
    II. Tarantella
    III. Hurricane
    IV. Cadenza: Aftermath
    V. Epilogue

    Commissioned by CBC Radio & Symphony Nova Scotia.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
  • Rental
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Hurricane Juan piano concerto : Score
(downloadable PDF)
Hurricane Juan piano concerto : Solo Parts
Solo Parts
(downloadable PDF)
Hurricane Juan piano concerto by Peter Charles Allen (Score)
Printed on demand
Hurricane Juan piano concerto You can obtain a paper copy of this work for:
  • Loan (free)
  • Rental
by clicking the ADD TO REQUEST LIST button to the right
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto