La route des pèlerins reclus

Michel Longtin
Composition Date: 1984
Revision Date: 1984
Duration: 00:15:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)

Instrumentation:

Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 3 x Flute
  • 4 x Oboe
  • 3 x Clarinet
  • 3 x Bassoon
  • 4 x Horn
  • 3 x Trumpet
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 3 x Percussion
  • 1 x Harp
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:

Michel Longtin

La route des pélerins reclus, 1984

Commissioned by: Montréal Symphony Orchestra


La route des pélerins reclus is the result of a commission by the Montréal Symphony Orchestra. Longtin turned for inspiration to a novel by C. Virgil Gheorghiu, Le meurtre de Kyralessa (The murder of Kyralessa), which he had read years prior and still describes as ‘one of the best books I have ever read.’ Longtin sees his 15-minute La route des pélerins reclus as a symphonic poem in the tradition of Liszt and Strauss, though written in a thoroughly contemporary idiom.”



Premiere Information:
Montréal Symphony Orchestra, Charles Dutoit, conductor, May 15, 1985

CATALOGUE INFO:

  • Call Number:
  • MI 1100 L857ro
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • January 5, 1990
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition (36 p.) ;
    36 Pages
    Height: 64 cm
    Width: 36 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Oversized score. Please request from library staff.

    3(picc)4(Eng hn)3(bass cl)3(cbsn)/4331/timb, 3 perc, harpe/cordes (min. 17-14-12-10-8).
    Ms. (photocopie); les origineaux de la partition et des parties se trouvent au CMC Montréal.
    Durée: env. 15:00.
    Commandé de l'orchestre symphonique de Montréal.

    Dépouillement : (en six parties uninterrompues)I. Les grandes sapins des Carpathes sont te moins de Kyralessa -- II. Dracopol cravache le Maitre apostol -- III. Irina et l'ours -- IV. La route de Kyralessa -- V. Le calvaire de Maitre Apostol Icare -- VI
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

Centrestreams:

Click here to listen to La route des pèlerins reclus in Centrestreams.

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
La route des pèlerins reclusFor information about this piece, please contact atelier@centremusique.ca--
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver