La route des pèlerins reclus

Michel Longtin
Composition Date: 1984
Revision Date: 1984
Duration: 00:15:00
Genre: Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 3 x Flute
  • 4 x Oboe
  • 3 x Clarinet
  • 3 x Bassoon
  • 4 x Horn
  • 3 x Trumpet
  • 3 x Trombone
  • 1 x Tuba
  • 1 x Timpani
  • 3 x Percussion
  • 1 x Harp
  • 1 x Unspecified bowed strings
Instrumentation Set Number 2:
  • 1 x Full orchestra
Programme Note:

Michel Longtin

La route des pélerins reclus, 1984

Commissioned by: Montréal Symphony Orchestra

La route des pélerins reclus is the result of a commission by the Montréal Symphony Orchestra. Longtin turned for inspiration to a novel by C. Virgil Gheorghiu, Le meurtre de Kyralessa (The murder of Kyralessa), which he had read years prior and still describes as ‘one of the best books I have ever read.’ Longtin sees his 15-minute La route des pélerins reclus as a symphonic poem in the tradition of Liszt and Strauss, though written in a thoroughly contemporary idiom.”

Premiere Information:
Montréal Symphony Orchestra, Charles Dutoit, conductor, May 15, 1985


  • Call Number:
  • MI 1100 L857ro
  • Genre:
  • Orchestra / Large Ensembles, Full Orchestra (20 or more)
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • January 5, 1990
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 partition (36 p.) ;
    36 Pages
    Height: 64 cm
    Width: 36 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Oversized score. Please request from library staff.

    3(picc)4(Eng hn)3(bass cl)3(cbsn)/4331/timb, 3 perc, harpe/cordes (min. 17-14-12-10-8).
    Ms. (photocopie); les origineaux de la partition et des parties se trouvent au CMC Montréal.
    Durée: env. 15:00.
    Commandé de l'orchestre symphonique de Montréal.

    Dépouillement : (en six parties uninterrompues)I. Les grandes sapins des Carpathes sont te moins de Kyralessa -- II. Dracopol cravache le Maitre apostol -- III. Irina et l'ours -- IV. La route de Kyralessa -- V. Le calvaire de Maitre Apostol Icare -- VI
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:


Click here to listen to La route des pèlerins reclus in Centrestreams.

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
La route des pèlerins reclusFor information about this piece, please contact
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal, Calgary, Vancouver