Header - Services

Canadian League of Composers Announcement of the ISCM Canadian Section Official Submission to the ISCM World New Music Days 2017 in Vancouver

Canadian League of Composers Announcement of the ISCM Canadian Section Official Submission to the ISCM World New Music Days 2017 in Vancouver

novembre 11, 2016

The Canadian League of Composers is pleased to announce the composers and works selected by the Canadian Section of the ISCM (International Society for Contemporary Music) to represent Canada at the ISCM World New Music Days 2017 in Vancouver.

A committee consisting of Melissa Hui (QC), Rodney Sharman (BC), and Gayle Young (ON), chaired by Jim Hiscott (MB, non-voting), and facilitated by Elisha Denburg (ON, non-voting), convened recently and selected six works as Canadaʼs official submission to the international jury of the ISCM World New Music Days 2017. These works will be featured on the annual ISCM Canadian Section CD, which will be handed out to presenters and interpreters from countries around the world

ISCM World New Music Days 2017, Vancouver
ISCM Canadian Section Selected Works
(alphabetical by composer):

Luke Nickel
(mixed choir)

Sonia Paço-Rocchia

Remy Siu
foxconn frequency (no. 2) - for one visibly Chinese performer
(piano + électronique)

Linda Catlin Smith
Orient Point
(string orchestra)

Kotoka Suzuki
In Praise of Shadows
(three paper players + electronics)

Barry Truax
The Garden of Sonic Delights

The Canadian League of Composers and the ISCM Canadian Section are pleased to be associated with the above works. Each composer will receive a cash prize for having been selected as part of the Official Submission.

At least one of the six works included in our national submission will be performed during the festival (the international jury can, however, select more than one of these works); we will endeavour to promote and disseminate all of these works with the hope that they will receive performances in Canada and abroad, in addition to the possible World New Music Days performances and annual ISCM Canadian Section CD printing.


Jim Hiscott, President, ISCM Canadian Section
Rodney Sharman, Vice-President, ISCM Canadian Section
Christopher Reiche, President, Canadian League of Composers


Composers whose works were not selected by the Canadian Section, and composers who would still like to apply on a private basis are welcome to submit directly to the international jury (fee applies for individual submissions).

Deadline for individual submissions: November 15 2016, at 11:59 PM PST (Pacific Standard Time), via Submittable.com. Late submissions will not be considered.

For more detailed information provided by the festival organizers, visit:

ISCM Canadian Section contact:
Jim Hiscott : iscm@composition.org

Canadian League of Composers contact:
Elisha Denburg : info@composition.org

The ISCM Canadian Section is administered by elected Council members of the Canadian League of Composers.


Compositeurs apparentés : Linda Catlin Smith, Barry Truax, Kotoka Suzuki