Three memories
for piano

Composition Date: 2008
Duration: 00:08:40
Genre: Keyboard, Piano, One Keyboard, Two Hands


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
Click here to download full work (7.13 Mb - Not printable)

Programme Note:
Each of these three pieces uses very simple musical material and exploit the beautiful pedal resonance of the piano; they are more about listening to that resonance than about playing a great many notes.Over The Hill and Far Away (I went out for a walk one day) presents a jaunty little tune, and then slips into something more mysterious and shadowy. In the score, this new section is marked "Entering the woods, then beneath the trees,
a lucid dream" and I hope it evokes the unique quiet and dappled light you find when you leave the road and walk where the trees take you.Through The Glass begins with a musical motive that echoes from the first piece, and then takes it to a much more fragmented, dark emotional landscape. I was thinking of the passage from I Corinthians (13:11-13) that begins "When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things. For now we see through a glass darkly; but then face to face..."For John, Who Is Dying was written for a man I used to know a little, a long time ago. He was one of those rare people whose simplicity and humility gives them a holiness we might call saintly – a word that we often use sarcastically, but which I use here in its most straightforward meaning. This radiant person was ravaged by Alzheimer's, and I was deeply affected by visiting him as he suffered the later stages of this disease. He died shortly afterwards.These pieces are full of memory – bittersweet, and heavy with nostalgia and sunlight.

Premiere Information:
Walter Hall
28 Oct 2008
Emil Prikryl, piano


  • Call Number:
  • MI 2110 L782th
  • Genre:
  • Keyboard, Piano, One Keyboard, Two Hands
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • June 30, 2014
  • Type:
  • Print-music, Published by CMC
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 score (9 p.) ;
    9 Pages
    Height: 28 cm
    Width: 22 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Over the Hill and Far Away
(I went out for a walk one day)
    Through The Glass
    For John, Who Is Dying
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Loan
  • Purchase
Available Products for this piece:

TitleDetailsPriceAdd this Product
Three memories for piano: Score
(downloadable PDF)
Three memories for piano (Score)
Printed on demand
Three memories for piano
Library Loan
Copies of this work are available for loan from: Toronto, Montréal