Glass Houses Vol. 2

Ann Southam
Ann Southam
Composition Date: 2014
Duration: 00:53:48


Instrumentation Set Number 1:
  • 1 x Piano
Programme Note:
Ann Southam was a close friend and musical collaborator of Christina Petrowska Quilico for almost 30 years. Petrowska Quilico began performing her music in 1981 and has recorded a number of her major works for piano. Glass Houses Revisited (Centrediscs) was the third collection and the first recording of this cycle and remains Centrediscs’ best-selling CD of all time. It was nominated for a JUNO for Best Classical Composition in 2012. Glass Houses Vol. 2 completes the entire set of “Glass Houses” for Centrediscs.

Passion and sensitivity, phenomenal technique and “dazzling virtuosity” (New York Times) characterize pianist Christina Petrowska Quilico, whether she is playing a Liszt piano solo, a Mozart chamber work, the Grieg concerto or the premiere of a new work by a living composer. Her 30-some recorded titles encompass contemporary works by Canadian and International composers as well as standard repertoire.

Born in Winnipeg, Ann Southam (1937-2010) completed musical studies at the University of Toronto and the Royal Conservatory of Music. Southam’s works have been commissioned through the Canada Council for the Arts, the Ontario Arts Council, and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, and continue to be performed in Canada, Europe and the United States. She was honoured with the Order of Canada, and earned a posthumous JUNO nomination for Best Classical Composition in 2012.


  • Call Number:
  • CD 1648
  • Date of Acquisition:
  • July 21, 2014
  • Type:
  • Sound recording, commercial
  • Physical Description:
  • 1 compact disc : digital ; 12 cm.
    Height: 12 cm
  • Additional Information:
  • Works/Tracks

    1. Glass Houses #14 7:19

    2. Glass Houses #11 11:31

    3. Glass Houses #15 9:05

    4. Glass Houses #10 8:58

    5. Glass Houses #12 7:01

    6. Glass Houses #8 9:54

    Christina Petrowska Quilico, piano.
Request a Repertoire Consultation
Suggest Modification for this Record

Available For:

  • Reference