Carnegie Hall Presents the Kronos Quartet

Saturday, March 7, 2015
Event Title: Carnegie Hall Presents the Kronos Quartet
  • Region: --
  • Venue / Location: Carnegie Hall, NY
  • Time: 9:00pm
  • Price: $55 - $65
  • Genre: Strings (bowed)
  • External Link: Carnegie Hall
  • Composer: Derek Charke
  • Composition: --
  • Community Profile: --

One of the most celebrated ensembles of our day, the Kronos Quartet continues to expand the range and context of the string quartet. This concert includes a new work commissioned by Carnegie Hall by CMC associate composer Derek Charke, and Beyond Zero: 1914–1918, an extraordinary multimedia production that features music by Aleksandra Vrebalov and a film by Bill Morrison.


MERLIJN TWAALFHOVEN On Parole (World Premiere)


DEREK CHARKE Dear Creator, help us return to the centre of our hearts (World Premiere, co-commissioned by Carnegie Hall)

ALEKSANDRA VREBALOV / BILL MORRISON Beyond Zero: 1914–1918 (for quartet with film) (NY Premiere)

Part of Late Nights at Zankel Hall and My Time, My Music.
Kronos Quartet
·· David Harrington, Violin
·· John Sherba, Violin
·· Hank Dutt, Viola
·· Sunny Yang, Cello
with special guest
Face the Music